Yesterday I dined with death

TM Elora
Poets Unlimited

--

Yesterday I dined with death. We had such a blast.
I only talked of future. She only talked of past.

I told her about all my plans and dreams, for which I long.
We sat around and quenched our thirst with chilled Sauvignon Blanc.

She asked: “What’s causing your delay and slowing down your pace?”
So I explained her all about waiting for the right time and place.

I said: “I need a lucky breakthrough. Today it’s about who you know.”
But then she said: “If you want to reap, you better start to sow!”

She doesn’t understand I am busy with all the other stuff and chores
but I promised her to start tomorrow, to make calls, to open doors.

She talked of hurry, mentioned haste but I couldn’t really see
what she meant by “don’t wait too long as next time you will leave with me.”

Yesterday I dined with death. We had such a blast.
Her words are still ringing in my ears. I don’t think our meeting was the last.

Thank you for reading!

--

--

TM Elora
Poets Unlimited

Abstract Artist, Poet, Writer and Inspiration Junkie.