Beyond Your Blue

Stephen O'Connor
Poets Unlimited
Published in
3 min readJul 25, 2017

You’re not my friend, are you
I ponder you
Your body blankets my bed in a blueish hew
And in the moment my soul is stuck on you
Like glue
Its stuck on you.

I don’t mind
The feeling is not new to me or you
And you don’t mind
Or at least you don’t show you do
We both know well
This connection we find
But we both don’t love and we both don’t mind

You’re not my friend, are you
Not giving more than a few
We greet our flesh with racing hearts
Our blood rushing through
The pain I give you, the pleasure
I feel it too

Locked together
I’m a slave to this dance with you
Time after time
My sense and self undo
With glistening skin and quickened breaths I wonder
As I lie beside your Blue
Like frosted glass
I never see in
I only see through
You don’t allow me
Nor do I allow you

You’re not my friend, are you
I have filled myself in you
Now I rest to ponder your Blue
But you have a warmth
It leads me to fall for you
After-all, I am the fool

Smiling, you rest your head on me
No words come from you
None come from me but I smile too
And I wonder what more I can get from us
What more I can get from you
As you lie there
Peaceful in your Blue
I wonder
Would you feel this way too

But you’re not my friend, are you
The shadows cast
The minutes left become few
I’m familiar with this feeling
I have now acquired the color from you

Joni sings to me
She says her songs are like tattoos
She sings only to me
Never to you
For I have acquired the color from you

There are warnings I choose not to heed
Whilst my body and soul receive their feed
And how many of these ‘non friends’ does one need?
Will the heart will lessen from this ‘lie’ we lead?
I think these things as you shower
As you wash yourself of me
I’m spent with no ties but from what am I free?

And you’re not my friend, are you
But do I want to be free from you?
An anchor sometimes I think we need
To keep the ship constant in this churning sea

Why not of you?
Should we consider a dialog beyond these words a few?
Or refrain
To keep our arrangement true
To stay the night or leave with you?

I think I mind.
I think you do too
Because you’re not my friend,
Are you?

No
This feels good
So good
But its nothing new

It’s the same old me
It’s the same old you

So now we say goodbye
Goodbye to our blue
As we always seem to do

No more shall come from me
As no more will come from you

Copyright © 2017 Stephen O’Connor - All Rights Reserved

--

--