10 Practical Tips for early-stage SaaS Entrepreneurs

Some practical and actionable tips from Point Nine

Louis Coppey
Apr 6, 2017 · 2 min read

I have had the occasion to do a workshop at the SEED Summit organised by HEC Paris last week. It was a good occasion for me to go back there. I shared a few things I have learned as a student, as an aspiring entrepreneur, and as VC focused on SaaS at Point Nine.

Some people have asked me to share the slides after the conference. I thought a good thing would be to share to a larger audience here.

The presentation below consists of three parts with three key pieces of advice per part:

  1. 3 Tips for SaaS Entrepreneurs during the ideation phase
  2. 3 tips for SaaS entrepreneurs in their first 6 months
  3. 3 tips for SaaS entrepreneurs who start scaling

Some of the key points might not be self-explanatory. If you want to learn more, you can put the presentation in full-screen and click the links on the Slideshare presentation. You can also scroll down to the next part.

A large share of the key points derives from blog posts published by Christoph, Rodrigo and Clement in Point Nine Capital ‘s Medium channel. The rest from a few research papers I read last year studying at MIT:

  1. Point Nine loves Animal by @chrija: http://christophjanz.blogspot.fr/2012/04/point-nine-loves-animals.html
  2. Speed vs. Control by Noah Wasserman, HBS: http://www.hbs.edu/faculty/Publication%20Files/14-090_9901a957-a740-47b2-abce-4f93070d21fe.pdf
  3. SaaS Funding Napkin by @chrija http://christophjanz.blogspot.com/2017/01/saas-funding-napkin-2017-edition.html
  4. A Technical Due Diligence Framework for Early Stage Startups by @decodingVC: https://medium.com/point-nine-news/a-technical-due-diligence-framework-for-early-stage-startups-c24d5408256e
  5. How APIs are eating the Product Stack by @clemt : https://medium.com/point-nine-news/how-apis-are-eating-the-product-stack-914a3d6e1216
  6. On Hiring and Firing Customers by @DecodingVC: https://medium.com/point-nine-news/on-hiring-and-firing-customers-in-saas-63550687b215
  7. Do things that don’t Scale by Paul Graham: http://paulgraham.com/ds.html
  8. 7 DOs and DONTs for Seed-stage SaaS Pricing by @DecodingVC: https://medium.com/point-nine-news/7-dos-and-donts-for-seed-stage-saas-pricing-911acf88ca2
  9. What’s the Lead Generation Profile of Fast Growing SaaS by @clemnt: https://medium.com/point-nine-news/whats-the-lead-generation-profile-of-fast-growing-saas-7df3d8c86e43
  10. SaaS: Three Checklists to Choose your Sales Model by @clemnt: https://medium.com/point-nine-news/saas-three-checklists-to-chose-your-sales-model-17da9680df4b
  11. The 8th DO for SaaS startups: Stay on top of your KPIS by @chrija: http://christophjanz.blogspot.com/2013/11/the-8th-do-for-saas-startups-stay-on.html

Hope you’ll enjoy! Feel free to send me a message if you had any comments/further thoughts.

Stories from the P9 team & portfolio companies

Louis Coppey

Written by

Point Nine Land

More From Medium

More from Point Nine Land

More from Point Nine Land

Welcome to a place where words matter. On Medium, smart voices and original ideas take center stage - with no ads in sight. Watch
Follow all the topics you care about, and we’ll deliver the best stories for you to your homepage and inbox. Explore
Get unlimited access to the best stories on Medium — and support writers while you’re at it. Just $5/month. Upgrade