In Search for Europe’s Mobile Champions

Nico Wittenborn
Point Nine Land
Published in
1 min readApr 15, 2015

Following a recent look at Berlin based mobile startups, I thought it would be interesting to zoom out and get a perspective on all the great mobile companies across Europe. So I started looking for the most interesting mobile companies across three stages:

  1. Mobile Champions (10M+ Downloads)
  2. Runner-Ups (1M+ Downloads)
  3. New Kids On The Block (<1M Downloads)

Obviously, downloads mean different things for different companies and business models, but this is the simplest way to look at them I think.

As I am most familiar with them, I started collecting the most promising mobile companies I have seen in Germany in this Google Spreadsheet:

European Mobile Champions

Naturally, this is only the beginning and I hope that other people will contribute (especially for the other countries!) so that we can create a proper, living data base of mobile companies across Europe.

So please add to the sheet, recommend this post and share it around. Thank you! :-)

--

--