The undeniable arrogance

Manisha
Polar Tropics
1 min readSep 18, 2019

--

Maybe he was scared to let me all the way in
Was it fear of losing his freedom and will
Or maybe it was the fear of manipulation

I gave it my all
But I couldn't get it back
At times I asked meekly
In return I got more arrogance

I slid back into tears
He hated them
He walked away
I begged him, clawed at him to stop
He shrugged me off like an unwanted scrap
He moved on

Each time he came back
While I waited, I lost a bit of myself
I submitted more and more
Hoping the arrogance will go away

I wasn't naive
I was in love
I saw the distant look in his eye
But I believed that love can fix it all

He was too damaged
I wasn't whole myself

With years the friction got worse
I stopped crying
We stopped talking
We stopped caring

Behind all this charade
I still kept waiting
He kept walking farther and farther away

We no longer exist
It hurts sometimes
But I won't trade the peace I have now for scrapes of love

--

--

Manisha
Polar Tropics

I love meaningful conversations over a cup of coffee. I write to share my experiences and thoughts. Living life for a few laughs, good food and love.