2020 in Review

2020, God and Flint, Michigan

2020 has been a rough year. But like my hometown of Flint, Michigan there is joy amidst the grief.

Dennis Sanders
Polite Company
Published in
8 min readDec 26, 2020

--

Featured image: The first Chevy Corvettes roll of the line in Flint, Michigan- June 1953. Photo courtesy of Chevrolet.

The year 2020 is, thankfully, almost over. Very few of us will be looking back fondly on this year of a pandemic with over 300,000 dead, tons of canceled events, massive numbers of jobs lost, racial strife, and an incredibly divisive election that did untold damage to democracy. There doesn’t seem to be anything good to say about the year 2020.

Right?

A few years ago, I was back in my hometown of Flint, Michigan to visit my parents. As my husband and I drove down Dort Highway on the east side of town, a memory came flooding back into my mind. The memory was from the 1970s when I was in grade school. I can remember auto carrier trucks lumbering up and down Dort Highway. The trucking company had its main garage on this side of town and you would see truck after truck filled with Buicks and Chevrolets going to all points across the nation. This memory came back to me forty years later because as I drove down Dort Highway, I realized that those carriers no longer lumbered down the road. In fact, they hadn’t driven on that road for years. It was a reminder that things had changed.

--

--

Dennis Sanders
Polite Company

Middle-aged Midwesterner. I write about religion, politics and culture. Podcast: churchandmain.org newsletter: https://churchandmain.substack.com/