A Letter from PTA President and Alleged Insurrectionist

I was only at the Capitol to Chaperone the 8th Grade Field Trip

Camille Tinnin
Politically Speaking
5 min readFeb 8, 2021

--

Dear Davis Middle School Family,

I write to you today to respond to the horrible and baseless accusations levelled at me and my totally appropriate visit to Washington DC. While my trip happened weeks ago, people won’t get over it, and just yesterday the FBI made an unconstitutional visit to my home, which has drawn unwanted attention to me and my family by local and national media. I have been called worse names than you could ever imagine: “domestic terrorist”, “insurrectionist” and “woman seeming to lack understanding of the basics of American Civics”. I have been dragged through the mud on Twitter and in the liberal media. But what they are saying is simply not true. The truth is, I am a patriot, a PTA President, and a parent. I am just trying, like everyone else, to do right by my sweet son Liam.

Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

I was only in Washington DC on January 6th to chaperone the annual 8th grade trip. Yes, the trip was cancelled, and yes, Liam is only in the 7th grade, but Jefferson Davis Middle School Students have visited our Nation’s Capital every year since 1995. Our community even made the trip in 2002- when the terror threat level was an orange. I wasn’t about to let fear of a supposed pandemic end our streak. Usually the trip is in June — but the radical leftist-run school board cancelled all field trips last year, so I decided, so as not to miss a year, to go in late December and stay until January — you know, being resourceful and ensuring our school has visited DC every year by being there during two calendar years in one trip. It was a good long trip, and I did so many awesome things including getting an almost private tour of the Capitol Building on January 5th! The timing had NOTHING to do with the Stop the Steal Rally, but, like any intellectually curious person wandering through our nation’s capital would have, I took the opportunity to hear the President (who some currently are calling the “former president”) speak.

As a strong proponent of the First Amendment, I saw the mobilization of the people toward the Capitol as a historical moment that could not be missed. How serendipitous it was that Liam and I could be there to witness this! I went to this peaceful demonstration to show my love for this country, for Jesus Christ and for freedom. And, it did not disappoint. Despite what the media said, no one broke any windows and no one threatened violence. Everything you saw on Parler was a deep fake. And if there was any violence (which there wasn’t), it was Antifa terrorists doing a false flag. I sang the national anthem FIVE times that day and didn’t discharge my concealed weapon once.

I, like any of you would have done in my situation, took the opportunity to gather some great photos: me in House Speaker Nancy Pelosi’s chair, me smiling next to police officers, me looking for the vice president (I captioned that one “where’s Penco” and people thought it was really funny). People are saying that these photos are incriminating — and show that I committed a crime. But, that’s just dumb. It is OUR house — and so I can go there whenever I want and do whatever I want. My tax dollars make me a part-owner and usually I think that co-op things are hippie nonsense but in this instance I am cool with it. Just like in my own personal home, I can rip off my top while filming a TikTok set to “God Bless the USA”, take a dump in the hall, enter an office and borrow a laptop, and call people names. It’s all in the first amendment. Has the mob trying to cancel me even read the Bill of Rights?

While none of my photos show my 13 year old son with me, I assure you, this trip was entirely for him and his education. I didn’t post any pictures of him because I respect his privacy too much for that. And just because he didn’t post any selfies on his account that day doesn’t mean he wasn’t there. Privacy is something we hold very dear in our family, but If you want proof he was with me, you can DM and ask him on Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, or SnapChat. His name is Liam Walker, just search it and his profile should come up — his accounts, like all of mine, are public.

Various members of our school community have been calling for my resignation from my role as PTA president based on the unproven claims that I was in Washington D.C. for the explicit purpose of overthrowing the election results. They also claim I have ties to the Three Percenters. But, just because I follow them on Twitter doesn’t mean I agree with everything they say and do. I’m there for the memes mostly.

Others are claiming that videos on my social media include hateful rhetoric. I don’t know what videos they are referring to, but will say that back in Fall 2020, I was going through a hard time and was preyed upon by the Q Anon conspiracy. Maybe I liked some posts or made some videos about things like Space Lasers and treasonous members of Congress during that dark phase. But, that was a really long time ago and while I won’t apologize for any of it I think it is really uncool that you are bringing it up now to pile on.

You, Davis Middle School Community, know the real me and you know what I have done for this school. Don’t allow rumors based on posts on my public social media accounts to cloud your judgement. Think of what I have done for this school — like making “Taco Tuesday” mandatory in the cafeteria in honor of the President’s famous taco bowl picture and ensuring that the 1619 project is not taught in our history classes.

I, like Senator Ted Cruz and Representative Marjorie Taylor Green, did nothing wrong and I, like our Senator Ted Cruz and Representative Marjorie Taylor Green, will not resign due to the cries of the mob.

Sincerely, Jennifer Walker

--

--

Camille Tinnin
Politically Speaking

I’ve been told I am funny for a girl, but prefer funny for a human rights activist. Aspiring academic/humorist/adult. As seen in: The Nordly, Defenestration