An Open Letter to Trump Supporters

Courtney K, LSW
Politically Speaking
3 min readNov 9, 2020
Photo by Dalton Caraway on Unsplash

You stare at the television in disbelief. You can hardly understand what is happening. You feel completely blindsided. A part of you doesn’t honestly believe it’s true. The question lingers in the air: “How could this have happened?”

I remember that feeling too well. Late in 2015, myself along with millions of other voters experienced the same enormous loss. Four years later, I empathize with you all.

Today, I have a message for you. I cannot speak on behalf of all opposing voters, but I know that I am not alone in the way that I am approaching this moment in American history. I hope that with this message we both come to understand each other better.

I Hear You

Now, let me be the first to say that it took some time for me to see the opportunity after Trump won office, but nonetheless, the opportunity post-loss was there the entire time. When Trump won office, a large group of people in America rose up and said, “We must be heard.” I want you to know that we heard you.

Many Trump voters are angry at the dysfunction of government. As it stands today, I think that it’s fair to say that our government has its fair share of issues. To deny this is to deny the need for progress.

Currently, the dysfunction of government is the product of an incredibly polarized system. “A house divided against itself cannot stand alone.” The fact of the matter is that things do need re-worked. We may not exactly agree on how to accomplish the end goal, but we can all agree: change is necessary.

I Support You

Know that much like our President-Elect, I am here to support you regardless of your party affiliation. In my advocacy work and my work in healthcare, I will continue to support all people.

If you come in sick to the hospital I work at, I will support you and address the needs of you and your family. Regardless of your beliefs, I promise to continue to advocate for you and your family to have effective and affordable healthcare.

I believe in your right to free expression of self. I see that our differences are our strengths. You don’t believe the same as I do, and that is the way that it’s supposed to be. We need all perspectives at the table here in America. At the core of American society, diversity of thought has propelled us forward as leaders in the free world.

I Respect You

Let me be clear in stating that I am not part of anything that is hateful. I have nothing but respect for you all. I do not for a second believe that because we have different views means that we are worth “more” or “less” than each other.

I know that we are all humans, and we are all more alike than we are different. No amount of polarization can convince me otherwise. We are all children of God born into this world, and I believe in the dignity, value, and worth of all persons.

At the end of the day, nothing would cause me to turn my back on my family, friends, and colleagues that voted differently than me. We are stronger together, and mutual respect and understanding will be necessary to unite this country once more.

Now, Hear Us

Much like the Trump supporters, a disenfranchised group of people have once again risen in this nation. Similarly, our cry of “hear us” reverberates throughout the land after this election.

Hear us when we say that we are ready for bipartisanship in addressing the issues facing our nation. Hear us when we say that we will not stand for bullying in this country. Hear us when we say we will not continue to watch the most vulnerable among us suffer under a government that only serves certain groups of people.

It may not happen overnight, but I know that this great nation will heal collectively. Let us come together and support each other as we usher in an era of bipartisanship that brings with it liberty and justice for all.

--

--

Courtney K, LSW
Politically Speaking

Courtney K is a licensed medical social worker, transformational healing coach, and advocate. Courtney lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and two children.