Dear Mr. President

Breanna Lowman
Politically Speaking
2 min readMar 16, 2020

--

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

It is true
I don’t agree with you
And I’m not a fan
Of one nation under you

It’s tempting to disparage
To gossip and to hate
But even you
In the image of God were made

You are not worthless
Just as those you claim have no worth
Are also not

The left says you are malicious
The right says they do not care
Maybe you really don’t know
All the harm you’ve declared

I will still choose to see your humanity
Even when you don’t see the humanity of others
I will still believe God loves you
Even if I don’t think he’s on your side

I will continue to stand up to those in power
In order to stand up for those who are powerless
But that doesn’t mean I think
That you mean less than them

Everyone deserves grace
Even you
And I will never know the whole story
Only media’s “truth”

--

--

Breanna Lowman
Politically Speaking

Poet, writer, creative enthusiast. Wife and mother of three. Lover of different cultures and perspectives. Passionate about authenticity and bridge building.