Politics

Five Supreme Court Justices Lied and Should Be Impeached

Their testimony at their confirmation hearings was a travesty

Caren White
Politically Speaking
6 min readJun 24, 2022

--

Image by OpenClipart-Vectors on Pixabay

I feel like someone punched me in the gut. The Supreme Court has struck down a fundamental right that women have relied on for fifty years.

But I don’t want to talk about that today. There will be enough weeping and wailing on Medium. I don’t need to add to it.

Instead, I would like to talk about how five Supreme Court justices all lied to Congress and the American people when asked about Roe v. Wade during their confirmation hearings.

Most invoked the principle of stare decisis in their lies, so let’s define that term.

“Stare decisis is a legal principle that compels a court of law to follow established precedent when ruling on cases concerning similar issues and circumstances. It is a Latin term that means ‘to stand by the things that have been decided.’ In practice, it means that a court of law should adhere to the ruling from a previous case when faced with similar cases.”

It’s actually a pretty simple concept. When a case comes before a judge, their decision must include consideration of previous decisions on similar cases. This ensures continuity in the legal system. There…

--

--

Caren White
Politically Speaking

Top Writer in Politics and Government. I always speak my mind. Follow me on Mastodon @carenawhite