I Went to a Flea Market and They Were Selling Guns. Is This Normal in America?

Sincerely, naive / clueless immigrant

Melissa Frost
Politically Speaking

--

Photo by Sara Melissa Frost

I went on a domestic vacation in America this summer. A real road trip. I got to see some new states I haven’t been to before. Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, to mention a few.

Firearms and fine china sets

When in Georgia, my family and I thought it would be a fun thing to visit a local flea market. Explore the area, the community, the food, all that. So we went to the ATM and got cash, ready to see this large roadside flea market in a remote southern town.

I started walking through the endless aisles of vendors. And there, out of a sudden I saw two vendors from one of the stands selling guns just like they were selling antiques and fine china sets.

Too shocked to snap a photo I walked away from that part of the market and headed to some other vendors. This was a large, outdoor flea market with dozens of stands. They were selling gems, coins, old wooden toys for kids.

Oh, and guns. Again.

I haven’t seen guns being treated so casually before. Several vendors were showing off the firearms at this flea market, handing them over to their new owners.

--

--

Melissa Frost
Politically Speaking

Journalist. Mom. Wife. Norwegian in the U.S. Minimalist-ish.