JOE BIDEN

It’s Time To Talk About Joe Biden’s Accomplishments

There are facts in this story, which means nobody will read it

Charles Bastille
Politically Speaking
16 min readSep 19, 2022

--

When Joe Biden ran, again, for president, I wanted to pull the few remaining hairs out of my head. “Why don’t these people ever go away?” I wondered. Most people are quite content with retirement. Why can’t politicians relish it like the rest of humanity?

Image licensed through Adobe Stock

I’m a social democrat, like Bernie Sanders, who uses the wrong words to describe himself, thereby scaring half the country away, but who really wants little more than corporate accountability. In the 1970s, we would have called Bernie a moderate Republican.

Fast forward to today. Let’s look at what Biden has accomplished. I still don’t want him to run again, but there’s some real meat on these bones, and I am hoping someone can pick up where he left off so that he can enjoy his legacy with a few cold ones when he retires to Delaware in 2025.

The Inflation Reduction Act (IRA)

Most folks believe that the name for this legislation is an advertisement for the cynical views politicians have toward voters, but it‘s still a good bill. And economist Joseph E. Stiglitz, who has much better creds [1] than most of the people who are complaining, says…

--

--

Charles Bastille
Politically Speaking

Author of MagicLand & Psalm of Vampires. Join me on my Substack at https://www.ruminato.com/. All stories © 2020-24 by Charles Bastille