Taxes Are Hate

Unless they’re taxes on you

Alan Tabor
Politically Speaking

--

Musk Tweet: In the past I voted Democrat because they were (mostly) the kindness party. But they have become the party of division & hate and I can no longer support them and will vote Republican.
Elon’s Tweet plus PR photo cropped. Actual Tweet here

I’ve resisted for a couple of weeks, but this has been festering.

You see, I try to leave timely commentary to other writers. Caren White is a favorite. For my part, I prefer to try and dig in with analysis. It’s my slow-cooking thing. But the sheer malign goofiness of recent rich guy Twitter has taken me over the edge.

This could, I guess, be analysis if a connect-the-dots drawing is art.

The facts:

  • Biden proposes a wealth tax. This, btw, is what Thomas Piketty suggests is one of the few alternatives to the inexorable rise of income equality
  • In short order, rich guy Twitter lights ups
  • Jeff Bezos starts tweeting about Joe Biden’s responsibility for inflation
  • Elon Musk says the Democrats are no longer the party of kindness. (That’s the one that got me!)
  • Their alignment on Biden and the Democrats is, apparently, newsworthy. Rich guys agree on not liking Biden! News flash: experts say Musk and Bezos had been feuding on Twitter but now agree on something! (Looking for the article I’d seen that reported this important fact, I found there were in fact dozens of them.)

Bezos claimed that stimulus checks caused inflation and only Joe Manchin saved the…

--

--

Alan Tabor
Politically Speaking

Berkeley Backpacking Biz Lifer, System Builder, Coder, Community Organizer, Music and Evolutionary Biology Geek. All my projects at http://altabor.org/