Politics

The Tyranny of the Elderly

The death of Alcee Hastings has thrown a harsh spotlight on the problem of elderly people running our country

Caren White
Politically Speaking
4 min readApr 7, 2021

--

Image by Free-Photos on Pixabay

Representative Alcee Hastings has passed away at age 84. His death has opened a competitive seat in Florida and put the Democrats’ thin majority in the House in danger.

But endangering the Democrats’ majority didn’t have to happen.

Rep. Hastings is the perfect example of why we need a mandatory retirement age and term limits in both the House and the Senate.

For those of you who always become incensed and accuse me of ageism, know two things before you read further.

1. You are never going to change my mind.

2. I am a Baby Boomer and speaking out against my own age cohort.

Hastings had served in the House since 1992. That’s 29 years and 14 elections. He was so secure in his seat, that it didn’t matter that he was well past the average life expectancy of an American male (78.54 years) and even more so of an African-American male (75 years).

Yeah, you may as well throw some accusations of racism in there also.

--

--

Caren White
Politically Speaking

Top Writer in Politics and Government. I always speak my mind. Follow me on Mastodon @carenawhite