‘To the Best of Her Ability’: RBG’s Legacy is Now Our Responsibility

Nobody is coming to save us as we are drowning in our floods, burning in our fires, dying in our relentless pandemic. We are the ones who need to honor Ruth Bader Ginsberg’s legacy and life today.

Melissa Firman
Politically Speaking

--

Image by Sang Hyun Cho from Pixabay

“I would like to be remembered as someone who used whatever talent she had to do her work to the very best of her ability.” Ruth Bader Ginsburg, U.S. Supreme Court Justice

Late Tuesday night, or maybe early Wednesday morning, I was trying unsuccessfully (again) to fall asleep when out of seemingly nowhere, I felt this sudden, gripping, seizing certainty:

We were going to lose Ruth Bader Ginsburg before the election.

It was jolting enough to keep me awake for another hour or so. I tell you this not to proclaim myself as a soothsayer or to say this was some divination (although, as my husband and others can attest, I have had similar prognostications in the past, but that’s for another post.) Rather, for all of us who actually give a shit about things like democracy and equality and women’s rights and the perilous fate of…

--

--

Melissa Firman
Politically Speaking

Writes about books, GenX, politics, life. Currently working on a memoir. www.melissafirman.com