Politics

What Has AG Garland Done During His First Year in Office?

He seems to be avoiding the elephant in the room

Caren White
Politically Speaking
4 min readApr 26, 2022

--

Image by Clkr-Free-Vector-Images on Pixabay

The New York Times has an article reviewing Attorney General Merrick Garland’s first year in office. I was excited to read it cuz you know me. I’m convinced that he’s not doing a damn thing except maybe taking long lunches and afternoon naps.

Finally, I would find out what great, worthwhile goals he has been pursuing, maybe even the beginnings of an investigation into Trump.

I had a feeling that I had been missing all the clues. After all, Trump is the first president we’ve had who has tried to overthrow the government. It’s kinda hard to know what clues to look for in that kind of an investigation.

But, no, my first impression was correct.

The man has not done a single thing towards prosecuting a would-be fascist dictator who sent a mob to the Capitol to hang the vice president and stop the certification of an election that he lost.

I mean, if I were the attorney general, that would be the first thing that I would address upon assuming office.

Wouldn’t you?

Instead, he has spent the past year announcing funding to address police problems like…

--

--

Caren White
Politically Speaking

Top Writer in Politics and Government. I always speak my mind. Follow me on Mastodon @carenawhite