Why White and Black Gun Owners Aren’t Equally Protected by the 2nd Amendment

The 2nd Amendment is rarely invoked to ensure the rights of Black gun owners

Guy Nave
Politically Speaking

--

Image of a black hand holding a gun
Photo by Alejo Reinoso on Unsplash

Black and white gun owners are not equally protected by the 2nd Amendment. This is one of the reason why I choose not to carry a gun in public.

I’m an African American Army veteran who has possessed and fired several types of firearms. While I am a skilled marksman who is comfortable handling a gun, I have rarely carried a gun in public as a civilian. My experience with law enforcement and the legal system in America has convinced me that it is not in my best interest to carry a gun in public.

I also believe that the gun culture in America is totally out of control, another reason why I choose not to carry a gun. My reflections here, however, are not about gun control or my interpretation of the 2nd Amendment. This article is less about “correct” interpretations of the 2nd Amendment and more about how the 2nd Amendment has been and continues to be applied differently toward black and white gun owners in America.

The 2nd Amendment and self-protection

The US Supreme Court ruled in New York Rifle and Pistol Association v. Bruen on June 23, 2022, that the Second…

--

--

Guy Nave
Politically Speaking

I LOVE thoughtful and challenging engagement! That's why I read and write on Medium. If you enjoy the same, keep in touch. I always respond.