Why I’m Returning to Writing

An ode to resuming old, forgotten habits.

Peter Ramirez
Politics Mostly

--

I was writing quite a bit in the lead up to last year’s election.

My numbers were juiced. The political environment was so fertile for interest that even mediocre writing or a deep dive into an esoteric topic put numbers on the board.

The election came and went, and something happened. Something changed.

My writing motivation waned. The solid numbers I was accustomed to putting up flatlined.

Even at the time, I knew it was not because of the quality of my writing. It couldn’t be. I mean how could it when I was dropping bangers like The Twilight of Corporate Trust and When the Majority Becomes the Minority left and right?!

There was no inflection point, no cause for concern. There was just a collective exhaustion after the election.

I examined the idea of electoral burnout in this piece called “Examining the Post-Trump Malaise.” I offered some guesses,

“First, there was the win itself. Biden’s victory was officially declared four days after the election, depriving the Trump repudiation of a bit of sweetness. Second, while Biden’s historic…

--

--

Peter Ramirez
Politics Mostly

political science researcher. former valedictorian. reader/writer. host of “Politics Mostly” podcast.