Notes on Veganism

For the First Time in My Life, All the Food in My House is Vegan

I did not know how good this would feel.

Nathan Allen
Pollen
Published in
4 min readMar 10, 2021

--

Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

A couple of months ago, I signed the lease. A day later, I was handed the keys to my new place. It was a big step, but not really because of the move.

I reveled in this situation because for the first time in my life, I would be able to live in a completely vegan household. You see, my roommate Cam, a buddy from college, is vegan too. For months, we had fantasized about having our own place with plants in the window, oat milk in the fridge, Oreos in the cabinet, and Peter Singer on the bookshelf.

Realizing this dream seems like such a small thing; everyone moves out eventually, right? For me, it was more than a change of scenery.

Now, I don’t have to worry about eating my roommate's leftovers; it’s vegan. I won’t have to check any of the labels for the food in the refrigerator or cabinet; it’s vegan. I won’t have to worry about anything; it’s all vegan.

Just the other day Cam was sitting on the couch. When I walked in from running some errands she told me how amazing the broccoli was that I had fixed earlier. She explained that she did not have to worry with how I prepared it because she knew that we share common…

--

--

Nathan Allen
Pollen
Editor for

writer. illustrator. manic collector of pens and notebooks. bug guy from North Carolina. see my work at www.nthnljms.com