Kurt Vonnegut’s Overlooked Environmentalism

“I really wonder what gives us the right to wreck this poor planet of ours”

Sol
Pollen
Published in
4 min readMay 4, 2021

--

Cover art by editor.

Let me begin by apologising for my tardiness in writing this article. Yes, I know I’m late for Earth Day. In my defense, I think every day should be Earth Day, after all, Mother Earth works 24/7, 365 days a year, and, we actively work against her all the same. But that’s a discussion for another time.

Where our story begins…

On the first Earth Day, April 22nd, 1970. Kurt Vonnegut speaks outside New York City Public Library:

“The Environmental movement is a big soppy pillow,” he says, “Nobody’s going to do anything.”

… We can surely look forward to some great advertising campaigns.… Now polluters are looked upon as ordinary Joes just doing their jobs. In the future, they will be looked upon as swine.… Will the president do anything about pollution? Probably not.”

A pessimist? Sure. Yet there’s an often forgotten end to his speech:

“Those who try their best to save the planet will find a loose, cheerful, sexy brass band waiting to honor them right outside the Pearly Gates. What will the band be playing? ‘When the Saints Come Marching In.’ ”

--

--

Sol
Pollen
Writer for

Artist, economist & environmentalist. Expert in finding the best crying spots in libraries (She/They)