PLANT MEDICINE

Elder: How I Learned To Ask Permission

By Lindsey Coyne, Pollinate Herbalist

Pollinate Magazine Editorial
Pollinate Magazine

--

Photo by Peter Mason on Unsplash

Imagine being named Elder, someone who is valued for wisdom and holds a position of responsibility and authority. The wisdom of this plant has been carried through the stories of time. It is believed that elder planted in the corner of the garden or near a kitchen or doorway will offer protection from evil spirits. It is also said that elder is the gateway to the spirit realm and one is advised against falling asleep under an elder, lest they not return. She is associated with life, and death.

When you first see and smell an elder in all her glory, covered with plumes of delicate white flowers, she is a striking sight. I have cried at the sight and smell of her intoxicating beauty. When researching elder many years ago, as a young herbalist, I came across the suggestion to always ask her permission to harvest and/ or give her a gift for sharing her wisdom. When I allowed myself to connect with elder on an energetic level there was no doubt that I wanted to honor her in this way, by asking permission and offering something in return. Sometimes I offer her a story or song, sometimes I give her a coffee or a black tea (both high in nitrogen), or I will put a few shovels of compost near her base.

I remember one specific June day when I was cutting some elderflowers and I suddenly became overwhelmed with a feeling of sadness and began to cry. I was searching within me for why I was feeling this way and it dawned on me that I had begun cutting without acknowledging my friend and asking for her permission, I had violated her. As a woman who has been violated in many ways and on many occasions, I absolutely empathized with her and began professing my regret. I ended up telling her some of my stories and we bonded in a new way. Needless to say, I never made that mistake again.

Harvest elder leaves on the last day of April to prepare a salve for external use in the healing of Wounds (Blochwich. early 1600’s). Elder leaves are also a great insecticide and can be used in homemade bug sprays. This also explains why many choose to plant elder near the garden.

I now set my intentions before going out to harvest food and medicine from the plants. I will do so in a way that honors the plant and its wisdom. I will do so in a way that does the least amount of harm to the plant and its surroundings. I thank the earth and the plants it provides and show true gratitude for the health and abilities it gives me. I will be forever grateful to elder for showing me the most honorable way to be in a relationship with the earth and her inhabitants.

© Lindsey Coyne 2021

--

--