Ritual

The Sex Ritual

The ritual that keeps us connected

Zara Everly
Pollinate Magazine
Published in
3 min readJun 28, 2022

--

Photo by Noelle Australia on Unsplash

It always starts in my head. Thinking about him. I think about acts, things I have done, and things that I have read about.

This is not always a purposeful ritual. I don’t know if it ever is.

I may masturbate. I may need to let off a little steam in the form of an orgasm or two or four.

That never really works though. It just increases my desire. The fantasies and images that guide me are too achingly close. Too close but not a reality.

Not yet.

I shower.

My body is washed with care, knowing that I am preparing it for someone else. This is the part of the ritual that readies my body for its sacrifice to not just him, but to myself and my primal needs.

I clean every inch that I can reach. My hands glide over my breasts and I imagine my lover's hands.

I shave. Everywhere. My body will be a smooth temple for him to worship.

I use a bit of sugar scrub to smooth out any of my rough edges. My knees, my ass, my bicep areas.

Afterward, I slather body creme all over my body. I am now not only smooth and soft but also scented.

--

--

Zara Everly
Pollinate Magazine

Writing and research information professional. Bibliophile. Forever English major. Literary harlot.