SPIRITUALITY

You Choose the Teacher

Kathryn Dickel
Pollinate Magazine
2 min readMar 15, 2021

--

Pollinate Sunday Sermon — 3.14.21

Blessed Sunday to you, my friend. I hope to find you enjoying peace, but if I don’t, I pray that whatever you’re dealing with brings you what you need to grow, and that peace will come to you soon. ⁣

Peace was elusive for me this week. It seemed as though all of my ghosts decided to come for a visit. It started with a picture on my feed of an old flame, and the life he chose instead of mine. Then someone texted me about the close of a bad play I unwillingly starred for 10 years. I briefly chatted with someone who used to mean the world to me, but now rarely crosses my mind, and I did some deep reflection on the amazing amount of work I did when my boys were small. And then, of course. . . the year anniversary of lockdown. ⁣

When the visits started at the beginning of the week I told myself to ‘focus on today.’ That was comforting and surprisingly easy. But as the week brought more of my past to my present, I finally acquiesced to the need for us to spend some time together and I slipped through time, from 6 weeks to 16 years ago. ⁣

Here’s what I’ve discovered through this journey. We choose (or don’t choose) our teachers. Sometimes this is a deliberate choice & sometimes it is buried in circumstance, inaction or divine energy. Ultimately though, we choose to let them in or let them go. We choose which of their bags to…

--

--