POLYAMORY & RELATIONSHIPS

How To Know When You’re on the Polyamory Spectrum

And when you might be monogamous after all

Michelle Marie Warner
Polyamory Today
Published in
4 min readAug 14, 2021

--

Photo by cottonbro on Pexels

Believing we might be polyamorous is different than putting it into practice. Some of us tend to develop such deep feelings for someone we could no longer imagine sharing the same intensity or depth with another.

I want to be ethically non-monogamous in my next relationship. I’m currently poly-curious since I’ve been single a while and don’t date much. I know I must sit somewhere on the polyamory spectrum, or I wouldn’t be thinking about it so much. Perhaps some of us are on the fringes.

Ariane Resnick, CNC describes ethical non-monogamy in her article, “What Is Ethical Non-Monogamy?” as follows:

Ethical non-monogamy (ENM) is the practice of taking part in romantic relationships that are not completely exclusive between two people.

ENM can present in a relationship in many different ways. It may involve one person acting outside of the relationship or both parties doing that. It may involve only sexual connections with others, only romantic connections, or both romantic and sexual connections. — Ariane Resnick, CNC, verywellmind.com

--

--

Michelle Marie Warner
Polyamory Today

Writer of all things personal, socially conscious, sensitive AF, single LGBTQIA+ mom. Ready to bite off more than I've been chewing. michellewarner718@gmail.com