RELATIONSHIPS / CONSENT

It’s Time To Talk About Non-Consensual Monogamy

Can our relationships be ethical without better education?

Tom Brand
Polyamory Today
Published in
5 min readMay 25, 2021

--

Two women sit next to each other against a wooden wall. They look away from each other, with thoughtful looks on their faces.
Photo by Liza Summer from Pexels

There’s a lot of discussion about consent in today’s media. And this is nothing but a good thing.

Not only consent, but all the aspects and kinds of consent, such as active consent, enthusiastic consent, and informed consent. Each as its own applications in different situations. Society as a whole is finally addressing this vital aspect of sex in our culture.

But we pay less attention to consent when it comes to other aspects of our relationships. Which is why I want to take a moment to talk about non-consensual monogamy.

When I was growing up, I never gave a thought to what kind of relationship I wanted.

I always knew I would end up emulating the relationships I saw around me. I would find a partner, get married, and settle down. While I addressed who I was on the spectrum of sexuality, I never questioned my preferred model of relationship. Whoever I might be attracted to, it was a given that I would pick just one of them to settle down with. At no point did I question if something else might not be better suited for me.

If society is structured in a way that…

--

--

Tom Brand
Polyamory Today

Blogging about polyamory, ethical-non-monogamy, and modern relationships | (He/Him) | DiscoveringPolyamory.com | ko-fi.com/discoveringpolyamory