What Is Polyamory?

My freedom to love and to live

Redefining Love
Polyamory Today

--

Photo by Jennifer Regnier on Unsplash

According to Wikipedia, polyamory is the desire to have intimate relationships with more than one partner, with the consent of all partners involved. Here is how I would define it:

Polyamory is the freedom to ethically explore feelings and meaningful connections with more than one person, an ability to love multiple people at the same time.

I don’t think polyamorous relationships always have an intimacy component. To me, it’s more about the deep connection, which might be purely platonic.

When I had kids…

When I had my second child, I realized that the amount of love I had for my first child had not diminished. And if I ever have more children, I am sure that the love I have for my first and second born will only continue to grow. This realization about having an infinite supply of love and tenderness helped me understand my childhood experiences of being attracted to multiple people at a time. I always had a problem choosing one over the other because I thought I was supposed to.

Also, my exes…

I still have tender feelings for my pre-marital exes. Those feelings are not the hormonal…

--

--

Redefining Love
Polyamory Today

I write about my personal experience with polyamory and open marriage. Read full story in my book "My Journey to Polyamory And Back" available on Amazon.