Accepting a Life Long Struggle Is the Key to Mastering Any Skill

The key to mastery is life long consistency

Leo Carvalho
Pomme de Terre
Published in
5 min readNov 15, 2019

--

Photo by James Lee on Unsplash

The best idea I’ve ever had was to convince myself that I would be doing something for the rest of my life.

When I was 21 years old, I convinced myself to start studying Japanese. I told myself that it wouldn’t be easy and that I would need to commit to it for the rest of my life. When six months had passed things got a lot harder to keep track of, but I knew that I was nowhere near the end.

I love writing. I love that I found an outlet for my writing and that I can get paid to do it. I don’t know what my destination will be for writing, whether I’ll be here in five years or somewhere else, it doesn’t matter. I’ve convinced myself that I will be writing for the rest of my life.

It doesn’t really matter that right now I suck at writing, or that I still need to work on my Japanese — because I’m still working on both of them. I’ll be working on them next year, five years from now, ten years from now and when I’m retired.

Accepting lifelong endeavors freed me from the pain of not seeing my improvement

I have a grander sense of how long it should take to see improvements.

--

--

Leo Carvalho
Pomme de Terre

Writing about programming and the life of a developer, with some other things sprinkled in between