Find peace through scripture study

Scripture Study

John Clark
Ponder Today
Published in
3 min readOct 11, 2015

--

“Search the scriptures; … they are they which testify of me.”[1] These plain and simple words from our savior Jesus Christ are true. We come to know Him by studying the scriptures. We learn to emulate Him by following His teachings. We show we love him by pondering His words.

That is why I study the scriptures every day. To learn about Christ and feel the Spirit. For “man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of God.”[2] I need that constant nourishment on a daily basis. Just like eating sustains my body, studying the scriptures sustains my soul.

And I get guidance when I study the scriptures every day. Elder Scott said “We talk to God through prayer. He most often communicates back to us through His written word.”[3] As I pray and plead with Heavenly Father, many times the answer is brought to my mind as I am reading or pondering the scriptures. There are so many verses that seem mundane or normal until that one time you have a question in your heart and an answer to your prayer comes to your mind as you read it.

Now I understand that it can be hard to study the scriptures daily. It took me many years to make it a daily habit, but I testify that it was, and is, worth it. Remember what happened to the people of Zarahemla, who did not have the opportunity to study the scriptures: “Their language had become corrupted; and they had brought no records with them; and they denied the being of their Creator; and Mosiah, nor the people of Mosiah, could understand them.”[4] Not only was their language corrupted, but their testimonies were lost as well. Their lack of scripture study cost them dearly.

It is such a blessing to study and ponder the scriptures each day. “For my soul delighteth in the scriptures, and my heart pondereth them, and writeth them for the learning and the profit of my children.”[5] They were written for our learning and profit, and I love the feelings of hope and peace that they bring. I truly am closer to God when I read them, and it has made me a better man as I study their words and strive to become more like Christ.

I leave you with the last words of Elder Scott: “As you dedicate time everyday … to the study of God’s word, peace will prevail in your life.”[6] I testify that this is true, and pray that you find peace in your life through careful and diligent scripture study.

[1] John 5:39
[2] Mathew 4:4
[3] Make the Exercise of Faith Your First Priority, Richard G. Scott, October 2014 General Conference
[4] Omni 1:17
[5] 2 Nephi, 4:15
[6] Make the Exercise of Faith Your First Priority, Richard G. Scott, October 2014 General Conference

--

--