Uncertainty

John Clark
Ponder Today
Published in
2 min readOct 11, 2015

(Originally posted on August 27, 2015)

Life is full of many types of uncertainty. What will the weather be like tomorrow? Who will win the world series? Will the new Star Wars be any good? But the hardest type of uncertainty for me is the uncertainty of self. What should I be doing?

There is a calmness that comes from being certain. A stillness that is hard to describe, but easy to recognize. When I am certain of what I should do, I move forward without doubt. Without reservation. Without worry of what will be. I value this certainty, and the conviction and drive that it brings.

But what happens when it is gone. When I am not certain. When I doubt and wonder what is right? How will this work out? Frankly speaking, I have a hard time. It’s hard to move forward and dig in. Hard to commit and walk forward fearlessly. Hard to just relax and do. I find myself getting worked up and struggling with questions like “am I doing the right thing?”, or “how will this all work out?”.

But life is full of uncertainty, and there are times when you will not know for sure that what you are doing is the right thing. You will rarely know how something will work out. All you can do at times like these is do your best and have faith that it will be enough. Try your best and things will work out. Be your best and have the confidence that you will be able to move forward, be OK, and figure things out.

And you will be OK. It may take a while and a lot of work, but you can have the confidence and faith that you will be OK in the end. The important part is to keep moving forward. Keep progressing. Keep trying and doing your best. Focus on what you know is certain, and have the faith that things will become clear in time. Do what you thing is right, makes sense, and feels right, and you will be OK.

Because life is all about doing the best you can with what you know right now. Certainty will come, even if it appears as hindsight from time to time. Have the faith to move forward, trust in God and in yourself, and you will be OK.

--

--