4 common idioms/phrases/words in the business😆

Bonnie Chen
BONNIE
Published in
3 min readDec 15, 2020
icon source: https://www.flaticon.com/

I work on global company just about for three months until now. During these three months, there are lots of interested things to me. Either collaboration with different country people or the mindset that this company insists is really fresh and appealed to me🤪.

In this article, I want to share some common idioms that I get into in often in my daily work 🙌

1. work from home

Due to COVID-19, this phrase is definitely the most commonly mentioned in our daily life. Our headquarter is in Boise which is one of the capital city in U.S, and because of COVID-19 that all the employees should stay at home.

So…There are a lot of employees stay at home and work. Sometimes, after discussing business with my colleagues, they would feel very glad that they can talk to us😆. Try to think about that, if you stay at home for a long time, I think such much boredom could drive everyone crazy 😂.

Hope Coronavirus will be end soon 🙏.

2. out of office

I think this phrase is much funny to me, because “out of office” stands for “ooo”.

At my first time I saw this phrase in the e-mail, I was thinking that WHAT IS OOO??? Is it a correct word? 😅 And I googled it then realized the meaning of that, haha. Actually, it is an often used phrase in the business e-mail. If someone will take a leave, then he/she will write down “I will be OOO on (date)”, like this.

3. on the same page

The first time I knew “On the same page” is in my online English speaking class. And this idiom means that everyone is in agreement with something or in same thinking with something.

After I learned this phrase, I was thinking that if I really could hear this phrase from my daily meeting? 🧐🧐

However, I really heard “on the same page” this phrase during my meeting😆. Either discussing a program or making sure everyone’s daily work is on the track, our team leader would ensure that everyone is on the same page to make the progress more smoothly.

4. gotcha

The last one is I heard from my colleague who is an American that is just about my age. 😂

Every time we was brainstorming about the system development, he would said “gotcha” to convey that he got it. 😂😂😂 I think this word would make the meeting not more serious and sounds pleasant.

But, I just heard this phrase from him and never heard from my team leader or any senior. Perhaps it is a slang word I think.

So, the above four words or idioms are often used in my daily work.

Last, after worked for three months, I hope I can still improve my English ability, and perfect handle my business ✨!

--

--

Bonnie Chen
BONNIE
Editor for

I am a software development engineer. I like to code, think, exchange thinking with people, and also explore everything in this world :)