Werner

Poetry from Charly Irons

Charly Irons
poor art*
2 min readJul 14, 2015

--

I’m not exactly forged from the fires of adversity
Bruise like a peach, didn’t think that she’d hurt me
As all fruit has flesh, mine split at the seams
My delicate darling delighted, it seems.

The woman I’d waited for, busked for her beauty
Said yes to me, for no reason but some security
Mornings with the milkman, prayer group with the priest
My generous girl, I could say in the least

Sharing herself as she shouldn’t when taken
No marriage is perfect, unless I’m mistaken
Pretend I don’t know, but her body was savoured
I stay, but she doesn’t return me the favour

My life-raft had punctures like promises past
I took her for truthful, tied myself to the mast
God knows I’m no Captain of this sinking ship
And my reticle’s shot so I’ll shoot from the hip
I slump at my desk and watch ships sink ahead
Only mere months ago was she here in my bed
The immovable object to her unstoppable force
The epitome of lost in this loveless divorce

Pushed out of the picture, my tyres were punctured
My amorous aorta threatened to rupture
The heart I had coveted, four chambers I’d chased
Were exchanged for some pig-hearted boy in my place

The porcine valve pulsed, and I fell at the first
My love unrequited seeks a horse for my hearse
Chauffeurs for the coffin, cadaver committee
She’s killing me off, but she’s still sitting pretty
One email I write her, pragmatic repentance
I’m finding I can’t even finish my sentence
My inbox is empty, I sent her my heart
But my red-paper parcel gave her a head start

Forgiveness does flicker, I’m sanguine at best
Have her back in a heartbeat, ahead of the rest
But come now, though broken, of one thing I’m certain
To forgive is divine, but to err is just human.

--

--