Zen and the art of aimless conversation

David Paulsen
Pop Goes the Culture
1 min readNov 4, 2015

My sister was looking for a book on buddhism and asked, by phone, if she should read “Dharma Bums.”

I said Kerouac probably isn’t what you’re looking for right now.

I recommended “Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance.”

I’ve never read “Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance.”

But I’ve known people who swear by that book. Or just stick with the Dalai Lama, I guess.

I could never quite figure out Buddhism for myself, being from a family of engineers and Catholics.

Kerouac was the closest I came.

Still, I’d recommend “Big Sur” to anyone who wasn’t already crazy. That book will do it to ya.

It’s been a while.

--

--

David Paulsen
Pop Goes the Culture

Fundamentally a collection of cells, tissues and organs, but mostly water. #WesternMass #LosAngeles #NewYorkCity #Milwaukee