Guess what? I am free

At 153 beats per minute “Freeee (Ghost Town Pt. 2)” is a medium paced, unassuming track, packaged in A Minor. That, juxtaposed against a steady message of hope and triumph, this track has you feeling good.

Pop vs God
Pop vs. God
3 min readOct 20, 2018

--

By Joe Pemberton

“Freeee Ghost Town Pt. 2” track from Kids See Ghosts (2018). Songwriters: Kanye West, Scott Mescudi, Tyrone Griffin. Lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group

Come on. Nobody feels that free.

The lyrics are exulting, but not bragging or vindictive; the way someone might bemoan a bad breakup and be rid of someone.

“I don’t feel pain anymore,” and “Guess what, babe? I am free!”

No surprise then, Freeee has earned a permanent spot in my running playlist.

Kid Cudi (right) and Kanye West (left) performing “Freeee”. Kanye West, Kid Cudi (Scott Mescudi), Tyrone Griffin (Ty Dolla $ign), Jeffrey Nath Bhasker, and Michael Dean. “Freeee (Ghost Town Pt. 2)” lyrics are © Universal Music Publishing Group.

The track builds to a shout

And you know d*mn well,
He lift me up every time that I fell!
And I feel free.

The lyrics hint at an unnamed benefactor. Someone capable of gifting a rebirth born from a departure of a past life:

Feeling out of my past life;
Died and came back twice;
Now I’m free

This captures a hint of my gratitude for the path the Savior laid down for me (and us all) to be free. Redemption means to be reclaimed. Paid for. Made whole despite failure, flaw, agony, and disappointment.

That is the power of Christ, to do for us what we can’t do for ourselves. This isn’t compulsion, it’s an invitation. The power is in our hands to claim it:

28 ¶ Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.

30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.
(Matthew 11: 28–30)

The track kicks off with a sample borrowed from Marcus Garvey, a civil rights activist, and entrepreneur, who sought to motivate black men and women to rise out of a slavery mindset; to work and to build the future they wanted for themselves.

The timeless message resonates, because it’s universal.

American civil rights activist, Marcus Garvey

May I say something to you to give you a true knowledge of yourself and life,
Man in the full knowledge of himself is a superb and supreme creature of creation,
When man becomes possessor of the knowledge of himself,
He becomes the master of his environment

After the sample, Kid Cudi kicks off the lyrics,

I don’t, feel, pain anymore
Guess what, baby? I feel free

Nothing hurts me anymore
Guess what, baby? I feel free

I’m so complete anymore
Guess what, baby? I feel free

I felt the chains on me locked in a cell
(You know I’m free, yeah) Ah!

Ooh, one day they hate you
Next day they love you
I’m still yellin’, “eff you”

I could never trust (free)
I feel free, I feel free
I feel free

Later in the track,

Feeling out of my past life
Died and came back twice
Now I’m free

This post is not an endorsement of Kanye West, or Kid Cudi’s library of music. Be discerning in your music consumption and find the good in the world. (Philippians 4:8)

--

--