Pop Culture Mondays/12.18.23

The “HOLIDAY MODE” Edition

Brooke Hammerling
Pop Culture Mondays
7 min readDec 18, 2023

--

Welcome to my brain…

Happy Monday, my darling pop culture junkies. For the 5 of you that are even still around this week. I mean, EVERYONE seems to be away, or if not away, then very much checked out. I will admit I have been looking at this screen for an hour, trying to find the focus to sit and write. And that’s the perfect time to tell you we will have a TWO-WEEK pause on PCM!! I don't think I have done that before…even after my open heart surgery, lols. But since Christmas AND New Year's Day falls on Mondays this year…I am taking that as a sign to take a break. Whilst you are skiing in Gstaad or sunning in the Turks or surfing in Hawaii or touristing around Japan…I shall be doing none of those things, but I will be with you in spirit.

Let’s get to this quick little PCM this week. I'm not doing big stories this week; rather, I'm just doing a quick round-up of some of the things that have popped up.

If you missed last week’s podcast, here you go!

Grab some headphones and some candy or carbs (calories don’t count in PCM land) and enjoy…

Xx,

Brooke

NEIL THE SEAL:

I am honestly in love with this creature and quite possibly am booking a trip to Tasmania so he and I can have a cuddle. But that apparently would be a bad idea because Neil is a 1300 lb elephant seal and can be a bit cranky. But this boy loves his traffic cones! So here’s the deal…Neil the Seal is just a pup, really…apparently, he will grow to a whopping 8,000 lbs! He has been causing chaos in the Tasmanian town of Dunalley, which seems like a picturesque seaside village. But the peace has come to a halt thanks to Neil, who has decided this is his home now. Apparently, elephant seals come up to land for like 5–6 weeks a year for a bit of a rest after swimming and hunting for food in endless open sea. BUT most of the seals will just hop onto a beach and camp out there for their resting time.

NOT Neil.

Neil has decided he loves dashing around the town and causing mischief. And the police are now on his case…to protect the citizens and help get him out of the way at times…but also to protect Neil the Seal. OBVIOUSLY, Neil must be protected at all costs.

This is my fave from Ozzy Man Reviews:

But so many more:

And this is how I feel:

And her…

Let’s all go to Tasmania.

For more on our Neily the Sealy…

SOMEONE NEEDS A LOT OF ATTENTION:

This guy is Sean Stellato, and in case there is ANY doubt, he's a sports agent. Specifically, he is the agent for the NY Giants Quarterback Tommy DeVito, AKA TOMMY CUTLETS.

I am screaming.

Look, I only watch SWIFTBALL, so I am not really up to speed on all the players on other teams besides the Chiefs and the Eagles. Because I AM A KELCE BROS STAN sorry not sorry.

So imagine my delight when this whole storyline hit my radar last week.

This picture went far and wide last week, introducing the world to the Italian Jerry Maguire.

I mean, here he was with Tommy Cutlet's family last week. I mean…

He’s now gotten the Fallon treatment:

And Sean was just inducted into…the NATIONAL ITALIAN AMERICAN SPORTS HALL OF FAME:

And last night, he wore the jacket he got from the ceremony:

Even the NFL has gotten into it…

It all seems vaguely ICKY tbh, like playing up a stereotype and then having everyone mock that stereotype. We shall see how this plays out, but I am going to grab some popcorn.

NORTH SEA TIKTOK IS A THING:

A strangely terrifying yet frightening trend of videos capturing the utter CHAOS that is the North Sea has seemingly popped up more and more.

Like this:

And this guy sums it up perfectly:

WOULD YOU TAKE A 9-MONTH-LONG CRUISE?

If the answer is NO, then we can be friends.

Ok, wait. I take that back.

SOME of you reading this, I HAPPEN TO KNOW, have boats. Not like a Boston Whaler…but BIG BIG BOATS. The boats that come with a crew. And these boats come with TENDERS that take you from boat to land. And generally, that crew is VERY HOT, like too hot for Bravo shows. Those would be BENEATH them. And they wear little white polos with your boat’s name on it, and IF I ever get the invite to visit, I am told I am not allowed to hook up with the crew, which usually means I will do the opposite. 🤷🏼‍♀️

BUT, I digress.

The point is, could I do 9 months on one of those boats?

ABSOLUTELY yes. The answer is a HARD YES.

But on a cruise ship? I could not. I couldn't last 9 hours, I don’t think, unless I was on one of those really fancy ones and I had multiple rooms versus a bedroom with no window.

But apparently, a lot of people do this 9-month thing, and it’s a thing we are seeing unfold on TikTok.

And this woman has a beautiful story as to why she is doing this, which I can relate to very much:

And there is, of course, reactions and analysis:

STAND-OUT ADS:

There are some ads that are really making the rounds and having an impact.

This one from Chevy? Grab your Kleenex. No joke, I needed to call my therapist after this one.

And this one for gun control? Thoughts…and….prayers:

AND this from Apple:

I showed this one already but in case you missed this Tesco ad:

And continuing with the Brits…This one from department store John Lewis:

DON’T DO THIS:

This couple has gone viral for all the wrong reasons, and everyone is collectively offering the bride a safe place to escape.

Come on Cody.

YOU PROBABLY HAVE THIS (I MEAN, I DO):

The pinky dent is real, guys. Sorry to blow your mind.

We are, in fact, “evolutioning” as he says…lols.

YOU GIVE ME THE ICK:

This is Bridget Ziegler, who is a conservative ultra-right-wing mom from…..FLORIDA. And she is the co-founder of the ridiculous MOMS OF LIBERTY Group whose mission is:

Moms for Liberty is dedicated to fighting for the survival of America by unifying, educating and empowering parents to defend their parental rights at all levels of government.

Read between those lines.

ANYHOO…

Bridget sits on the Sarasota School Board, which is a frightening thought. But she and her conservative hubby got themselves into some hot water…TIMES 3…if you catch my drift?

They have a sex scandal…Obviously. They had a threesome which is rich, coming from an anti-gay LADY…and the 3rd party is now accusing them of rape. Yikes. READ ALL ABOUT IT:

And now, there are a lot of people trying to get her kicked off the School Board. But HAND TO GOD, this kid should be President…because JUST WATCH.

So this is Zander Moricz, who has become one hell of an activist.

THAT IS IT, my darlings…

I am SIGNING off and will see you in 2024. Where does the time go?

If you plan to watch movies this holiday, report back on your favorites. I DID watch “Leave the World Behind” on Netflix, and I know the Internet is divided, and the ending is an OMG WHAT kind of ending. But I loved this movie. It is dark and terrifying, and I'm not sure what it says that the Obamas produced it like is the world ending, but I highly recommend it.

Have an amazing break. Love you lots. Hit me up with comments, feedback, questions, tips.

If you aren’t already a subscriber and you want this in your inbox, please send an email to:

subscribe@popculturemondays.com

Xx,

Brooke

--

--