Pop Culture Mondays/2.22.22

The “TUESDAY MINI” Edition

Brooke Hammerling
Pop Culture Mondays
8 min readFeb 22, 2022

--

Welcome to my brain…

YOU GUYS!! I know I was skipping this week but you are all off on holiday somewhere..perhaps skiing in Aspen or Vermont or sunning yourself in the Caribbean or Hawaii or perhaps you are working from home bundled up on a cold day…regardless I had to get a down and dirty PCM on Tuesday out JUST to entertain you during your break.

Also, HOW COULD I NOT PUBLISH on 2.22.22 or for the rest of the world 22.2.22. Either way, it had to happen.

ALSO because UNCA JAMMZ nearly killed me this past week and turned my soul into darkness (it was already on its way though I assure you…) I needed to write about it before it destroyed me.

So I hope you like this Tuesday Treat…grab some headphones and let’s escape from Ukraine/Russia and World War 3 for a moment and just focus on the fun and dumb stuff.

XO…

I cannot…

UNCA JAMMMMMMZZZZZ:

Honestly, by now if you haven’t heard this yet then you are ACTUALLY living under a rock and you should LOVE that rock and nurture that rock and thank that rock for protecting you and keeping you safe and sane. That rock loves and adores you. For the rest of us? I apologize. I apologize on behalf of society. On behalf of your children. Your group chats. On behalf of TikTok. On behalf of Julia Fox. It broke me. But let’s do a quick little round-up of what all of this is.

Julia Fox — Julia, an actress and fashion designer and SO much more (Check out her Wiki) dated Kanye for maybe 2 months but she maximized all of it and I salute her I really do. She knew she had a moment and she leaned the FUCK into it. Now, do I think Julia is in on the joke? Maybe sort of? I think she knew exactly what she was doing. But sometimes things take a life of their own. Look, she was BORN to be a meme with the outfits and make-up she wore for fashion week whilst with a very mentally broken Kanye. But it was her appearance on the “CALL HER DADDY” pod that set off the super-viral moment so far of 2022. Forget impending war and financial crisis..w.e have UNCA JEMMZZZZZ…

The moment: Look I refuse to call Kanye, Ye, and I think anyone right now profiting off of him whether it is the tech world working on his new “platform” or anyone really is actually responsible and complicit in taking advantage of a mentally ill man in a manic moment. And I know a few of them..at least from the tech side and it is icky. It is sad. While we all watched Kanye meltdown on Instagram around the Super Bowl around Pete Davidson and his kids and so forth, his relationship with Julia has seemed to come to a screeching halt. I remember those days…those 2-month love bomb-filled relationships. FAST AND FURIOUS. And destructive and unhealthy.

BUT I digress.

Julia was asked about being Kanye’s muse which she says SHE THINKS SHE IS. Then she proceeds to say she was the muse for the film “Uncut Gems” but she says it in a way that took off. This way of speaking but it is not uncommon to me…I hear it all the time and probably do it all the time if I am being honest…but it is more reminiscent of ’80s Valley Girl speak than anything. BUT in case you missed it here are a few of the millions:

Maybe my fave…

Guys there are SO many you really don't want to share them all. But this was just to give an explainer of what is happening. Julia has since responded with this:

“Omggggg I was stoned leave me alone!!!! Hahahahahah..” — Julia Fox

Which makes sense. But this viral moment took off so much she got her own filter:

Honestly, there is nothing more I can write that Lea Goldman didn't cover beautifully in this piece for “Jezebel”:

If you want more on this really just send me a note but I am hoping for all of us and our sanity we can all move on from this very soon. Though I wouldn't mind a Josh Safdie response tbh…anyway for more on this:

A QUICK LITTLE ROUND-UP OF EVERYTHING ELSE:

  • So have you seen the new cover of “Vanity Fair”? If not…well here you go:

So…this got QUITE the reaction. Look, the clothes are by Miu Miu and this is their new Spring 2022 collection meaning we are back to the ’90s and early aughts in a big way. I mean didn’t Avril Lavigne and Britney already do this? I am NOT an ageist. I mean Nicole is 54 and looks amazing though let’s be real…we have all seen her recently on every show that seems to be made lately and she has had a lot of work. Facially…there is a lot going on there. Fillers. Whatever her jam is and that’s ok. You be you boo because you look great and your body IS banging….but this cover is A LOT. It is so overly filtered it looks animated. And here is this accomplished actress who has broken away from being the “wife of…” and built an amazing career but here she is giving us old-school pin-up girl vibes. And look…I think she looks amazing even if you took away all the filters and fillers but the fact is they are there and here is where we are. And the response was NOT entirely positive:

But tbh a lot of people came out swinging in favor of it:

I was not able to get thru the Lucille Ball and Desi movie I have to admit so it’s not something I can totally talk about. But for the whole VF article on her:

  • THIS newscaster. I mean nothing will make you feel unaccomplished as a human MORE than this guy. Also, I am RUNNING to Duolingo right now to see if they offer LUXEMBOURGISH because that is a language I am here for:
  • Macy Gray. Not a name you have heard in a while. But man she has a voice and she was the NATIONAL ANTHEM singer for the opening of the 2022 NBA All-Star game this past weekend in Cleveland. There is a lot of talk of her performance…my issue is she just might not seem totally OK. Like she needed help out there…she seems like a woman in trouble but that's just me. Here is the performance:

I thought she sounded beautiful…but I hope she is ok.

  • SHREK and Gen Z and Millennials are just having a moment right now:

Shrek was ALL over people’s FYPs this weekend and I mean I guess it was an ok recovery from UNCA JAMZZZZ but I am not sure:

  • LOVE IS BLIND SEASON 2 is back you guys. And I binged every episode though I am confused as they didn’t drop the entire series they drop just til the weddings. not sure if it was a tactic or Netflix had to take a second in editing because things went bananas but it is infuriating. But it is so fun to binge and there is a LOT going on. But my biggest issue with it beyond the OBVIOUS premise (the premise is fine but the wedding to me is unnecessary) is that in every scene whether in people’s homes or basically everywhere, they were drinking out of gold goblets. And not great gold goblets, I mean like frosted gold ones from Pier 1….

I did not remember these from Season One so I need to go back. BUT tune in to the world’s fave “EXPERIMENT” as Netflix tries to remind you in every way it’s not a show they are not allowed to call it a show no one can say SHOW it is AN EXPERIMENT. Anyway, you can also watch Love is Blind Japan and Brazil…have fun.

  • OK here is a new feature I might add weekly. But my fave TikTok of the week:
  • OK and time for MY NEW FAVE PODCAST! Our girl Tinx launched her new pod on SIRIUS because she’s BOSS and here it is and you must all subscribe I insist:
  • Remember that Coinbase ad from the Super Bowl everyone loved? Yeah well the CEO inexplicably went on to say how all these creative agencies dropped the ball on creative so they came up with the WHOLE QR Code ad IN-HOUSE at Coinbase which apparently was NEWS to the creative agency who allegedly came up with the ad. Woo BOY.

It started with this long thread…classic.:

THEN the CEO of Martin Agency came back swinging:

As a former founder of an agency, I say GOOD for her.

  • And lastly, are you following DeuxMoi on Insta? It is like Gawker Stalker meets Perez Hilton meets the Gen Z mindset. It’s something. But this article from “The Cut” really says a lot:

THAT IS IT my darling pop culture junkies…

I know I said I was taking this week off but sometimes you just have to break your own rules.

Stay safe and healthy my beauties. Stay kind. Stay funny AF.

If you aren’t already a subscriber (PLEASE PLEASE SUBSCRIBE!!!) and please do SHARE this with all your friends…and IF want this in your inbox please send an email to:

subscribe@popculturemondays.com

Or CLICK SUBSCRIBE below!

--

--