Pop Culture Mondays/6.21.21

The “ZADDY DAY” Edition

Brooke Hammerling
Pop Culture Mondays
8 min readJun 21, 2021

--

Welcome to my brain…

Happy Monday my pop culture junkies. It was a WEEK. I hit PUBLISH last week and seconds later pictures of Bennifer making out at Nobu hit and the world stopped for a second and from then on out it was a constant barrage of pop culture moments that took over.

It was too hard to keep track and too many TikTok trends to focus on and I basically couldn’t take it, everything was happening all at once so I took myself to my favorite place for spicy margaritas and tacos that’s just around the corner from me in LA…Mexico. It was glorious EXCEPT for the tourists I kept running into with MAGA hats…IN MEXICO. Wonders never cease. So that spun me out a bit so I drank more tequila and watched more TikToks and HERE WE ARE. As I pay for my sins of the weekend and try to de-salt myself as best I can….all I can say is THIS week’s edition is all over the place. SORT of like my brain. So buckle up and enjoy and to all the Daddies and Zaddies…I hope you had a great Father’s Day. This is for you….

Watermelon Sugar

HELLO ZADDY:

While this post may seem like a CHRISTOPHER MELONI/CHRIS KELLER/ELLIOT STABLER tribute post it is not entirely. It is a tribute to ALL ZADDYS out there, far and wide. I thought I would use this as an opportunity to explain to those who MIGHT not know what a Zaddy is. I am using Elliot Stabler as a VISUAL guide for this. Example 1 is above. Here are so more examples:

ZADDDDDDDY
Still Zaddying..
Pizza Zaddy
Stabler Zaddy

OK so let’s get to what a ZADDY is. I mean it’s a personal preference I think…ONE person’s Zaddy may be another person’s ICK but let’s just use Christopher Meloni as a standard Zaddy.

According to URBAN DICTIONARY, a Zaddy is:

A fine, handsome and sexy ass intelligent man that makes you smile and drip every time you see him. He knows how to handle business in and out of the bedroom. You low key want to have his baby! He makes all parts of you excited including your mind.

And According to Your Tango:

As Merriam-Webster hilariously explains, while a daddy is typically an attractive older man, neither age nor parental status has any influence on whether someone is a zaddy. Instead, the zaddy label comes down to fashion sense and that certain swag that you can almost feel as he walks by.

The stories of the origin of the term are all over the place though MANY people seem to connect it with Zayn Malik, of One Direction and for reasons only myself and my closest 100 friends know I CANNOT DISCUSS…I will not get into that BUT the rumors are apparently untrue and while he is considered a Zaddy, the connection was made because his name beings with a Z. Some credit Blac Chyna who had a baby with the boy Kardashian as having coined the phrase but it just seems she was an early user of it. SO WHO COINED IT FIRST?? We may never know. But while a Zaddy is all in the eye of the beholder…the general theme is FASHUN and SWAGGER. And voila…you have a Zaddy. For reference, here are some others who have been described as ZADDIES:

President Zaddy
Zaddy Draper
Pink Scrunchie Zaddy
Call me Zaddy

OK OK…sorry I mean I could really stay here all day but I shall move on. I highly recommend checking out the articles below for more on Zaddies, on Chris Meloni and it’s GOOD FOR THE SOUL.

“It gets better..”

INTERN TO THE (HBO) MAX:

This is one you may have seen talked about on your socials or someone reference in a group chat…or it may be one you missed entirely. Either way, I got you.

On Thursday, at 5:46PM PT, an intern’s world imploded. That is when a TEST email apparently was sent to ALL of HBO Max’s subscribers. The horrifying email in questions was this:

OK…nope there was NO nudity. NO profanity. Nothing vulgar. Just a simple test email that wasn’t meant to be sent but was and you KNOW the minute that was sent out the intern freaked the FUCK out. I envision them slamming their computer shut trying to make it stop like not being able to comprehend what they just did. I would have jumped up and shaken my hands screaming “omg no no no no no no” before realizing it was too late. The damage was done. AND the Internets HAD fun. SO much fun even HBO Max got in on it:

Here are some of my favorite responses to the email:

From CEO of Time Warner:

BUT REALLY…the winner here was from one of my favorite people who inspires me daily:

Love you Monica. ❤️❤️❤️

For more on this “SCANDALOUS” EMAIL MISHAP:

MY FAVE TIKTOKS:

There were so many other things that happened this week…I cannot do an entire post on Nic Cage so you can check other news out after this BUT I get so many requests for more TikToks so here is a compilation of some of my faves this week and a reminder that THIS APP IS FREE, Yes yes I know it means the Chinese are probably taking all my data but GODDAMMIT IT IS A FAIR TRADE.

AND THIS TREND I LOVE:

AND then of course HBO Max intern got some love:

THIS DUET KILLS ME:

This is a trend thats been around for a while using this “Sound” but this guy’s take on how hot us ladies like our showers is FUNNY af:

And this was LITERALLY me in 1992 in high school:

And LASTLY, Into the Thick of It was a trend for a second but this is where it gets META and this Bieber fan showcases what happened when he DMed the Biebs:

AND JUST A FEW OF MY FAVORITE THINGS (AND SOME DESPICABLE ONES TOO…)

  • I cannot for the love of all that is good and holy remember if I have covered the GOLF DRAMA or not. I mean I am not normally writing about golf BUT there is PGA dramorama between two pros who DO NOT LIKE EACH OTHER at all. And it is kind of funny because they are both babies about it. It was already known they didn’t like one another as they had public Twitter spats but nothing was better than this video from a few weeks ago:

IRONICALLY, this feud has made them more famous as a result and non-golf fans are HERE for it.

  • SORRY about this one but you will need tissues for this one. Every once in a while something from one of these shows pierces thru our cold hearts and the cold wax-like figure of Simon Cowell. Like this. May I introduce you to NIGHTBIRDE and I encourage you to watch the whole thing as it is really special:
  • Twitter lost its mind over the new Nic Cage movie where he stars with a pig…he is a truffle hunter along with his truffle hunting pig who goes missing…I mean here is the trailer:
  • There is a petition for Jeff Bezos to buy and EAT the Mona Lisa. I have no idea but the media cannot get enough:
  • Cancel culture has got to be cancelled. So last week we covered the Chrissy Teigen drama and her apology which was a good apology and NOW we are here where some designer from Project Runway is now being accused by Chrissy and others of FAKING the bullying messages he claimed he too got from Chrissy…so now people are making these things up like NBD let me jump into this drama? OK.

THAT IS IT. Have a beautiful week my lovely readers. Watch HACKS for the love of God on HBO Max because it is EVERYTHING.

Be safe, be kind.

If you aren’t already a subscriber (PLEASE PLEASE SUBSCRIBE!!!) and please do SHARE this with all your friends…and IF want this in your inbox please send an email to:

subscribe@popculturemondays.com

Or CLICK SUBSCRIBE below!

--

--