Pop Culture Mondays/8.28.23

The “BURNING MAN” Edition

Brooke Hammerling
Pop Culture Mondays
10 min readAug 28, 2023

--

Welcome to my brain…

Hello, my darling pop culture junkies, and happy Monday! I am back from an epic trip to Israel, and I mean, I could just turn this week’s edition into a travel blog on my time in Israel and why it’s amazing, from the people to the energy to the music to the history to the cultures to the FOOD. OMG, the food. But this is not why you are here; I accept this. But it really was a remarkable trip and being able to see my friend Yoni Bloch, a tech founder who also happens to be quite a successful rock star in Israel, perform live in front of a massive crowd of kids who were not even born when he first started making music was WILD and so fun. So check out his music:

OK, ok…so I will admit I am still getting my bearings as it was QUITE the trip, and quite the flight, to be honest, and I am just coming back to the land of the living after needing a couple of days to recover. So, this week’s PCM might miss some things because it takes me a bit to get back into it. I have a LOT to catch up on….missing a week of pop culture these days feels like you need a long time to catch up. But this week, I am dedicating PCM to Burning Man — where some of the most annoying people you know will be and, therefore, offline for the most part. WHEEE!

Calm down…not everyone is terrible. I have great friends who go, but they go for different reasons than perhaps some of the people I am referencing. But don't you worry; you will be flooded with the Instagrams when they get back showcasing their outfits, nakedness, rosé fridges, and Mad Max-style bikes or scooters or whatnot. So, Baby Yoda is riding around the PLAYA right now looking for some mushrooms and ketamine and we will let him enjoy. I hope he doesn't get busted by an undercover FED…

I love this Burner who breaks the reality down for you:

This week will just be a round-up to get us caught up…grab some tasty beverages and some OG hummus from a real place (not Sabra) and some raw onion (trust me) and enjoy…

Rich Men North of Richmond:

You might be super familiar with this guy by now. Or perhaps you have seen his pic but not made the connection to who he is. Or perhaps you have heard of this song, Rich Men North of Richmond, which even got a shout-out in the Republican debate last week. So before we go further, here is the song that has taken over the trending topics:

So far, it has 46 million views on YouTube. That’s just YouTube. On Spotify, it has been streamed over 29 million times. That’s just in a matter of a couple of weeks, so the very definition of viral. Look, it’s a catchy tune, and he cuts to the core of the divide of this country pretty perfectly. While the Republicans have taken it as their battle cry, many people can relate to him and his folkiness. Here are the lyrics:

“Rich Men North Of Richmond”

I’ve been sellin’ my soul, workin’ all day
Overtime hours for bullshit pay
So I can sit out here and waste my life away
Drag back home and drown my troubles away

It’s a damn shame what the world’s gotten to
For people like me and people like you
Wish I could just wake up and it not be true
But it is, oh, it is

Livin’ in the new world
With an old soul
These rich men north of Richmond
Lord knows they all just wanna have total control
Wanna know what you think, wanna know what you do
And they don’t think you know, but I know that you do
’Cause your dollar ain’t shit and it’s taxed to no end
’Cause of rich men north of Richmond

I wish politicians would look out for miners
And not just minors on an island somewhere
Lord, we got folks in the street, ain’t got nothin’ to eat
And the obese milkin’ welfare

Well, God, if you’re 5-foot-3 and you’re 300 pounds
Taxes ought not to pay for your bags of fudge rounds
Young men are puttin’ themselves six feet in the ground
’Cause all this damn country does is keep on kickin’ them down

Lord, it’s a damn shame what the world’s gotten to
For people like me and people like you
Wish I could just wake up and it not be true
But it is, oh, it is

Livin’ in the new world
With an old soul
These rich men north of Richmond
Lord knows they all just wanna have total control
Wanna know what you think, wanna know what you do
And they don’t think you know, but I know that you do
’Cause your dollar ain’t shit and it’s taxed to no end
’Cause of rich men north of Richmond

I’ve been sellin’ my soul, workin’ all day
Overtime hours for bullshit pay

There has been a lot written about Oliver Anthony and a lot of commentaries and the far-right calling him out as their own and the left getting all angsty about it because IN particular, of the things he says about welfare…but the best piece on him that I have read THUS har was this:

But look, the song is catchy. The quality is great. It’s folksy. People love a Cinderella story regardless of political affiliations. And tbh, Oliver himself has spoken out about being politicized as he is trying to be critical of politics IN general not just one side…he says.

But we come for the memes, am I right? These were some of my fave:

But the irony is…the right-wing conservatives co-opting him have made Oliver Anthony come out and defend Biden (I mean to SOME extent, simply by saying this is not about him) and criticize the conservatives. WHAT A WORLD.

Used To Be Young:

Another song and image blowing up on the socials is the new hit from Miley Cyrus. We are a society that loves watching people become stars and then fall from grace and then maybe redeem themselves…or maybe fall apart even more. From childhood into adulthood. Whether Justin Bieber, Michael Jackson, or Britney Spears…the list goes on. And Miley Cyrus.

And we now live in a time where artists don’t ignore their experiences but rather embrace them and express them. As we have all watched it play out in the tabloids or on social media, so it must be a bit freeing for Miley Cyrus to be able to sing her truth and address her “journey” as they say. Before I share my own thoughts…here is the song:

Let’s be clear…Miley is 30. She was born in 1992, the year I graduated high school. I get it; she’s on her journey and has lived in the public much of her life…but life is just getting started. My 30s were probably some of my craziest…no actually, I think that’s maybe my 40s…EVEN crazier. But like the ladies on the Sex and the City reboot, “And Just Like That…” — it’s making aging seem like you go from being a fun party girl to an old lady who needs hip replacements in the blink of an eye.

Which is not true. And I hate it. But that’s just me. The kids are VERY emotional about the song, so expect to hear it a LOT.

TikTok Egg Trend:

This really came to a head — no pun intended — while I was in Israel, so it might feel dated to some of you. But I am also guessing there are some of you who had no idea this was happening.

THIS, being the viral trend of parents surprising their kids by cracking an egg on them and capturing their response on video. And then all the commentary on this trend and what it means for us as a society. OBVS.

A lot of the videos are unshareable because either the creator made it that way or TikTok is limiting them because some are gnarly. The kids cry. They are confused. They are shocked. It is wild to watch. Like I wouldn’t do that to my dog because it would traumatize him. But what do I know?

Well, turns out. A lot of people felt this way.

Mrs. Roper:

What do we think of when we think of Mrs. Roper? Perhaps you think of ELEGANCE personified? Or STYLE ICON? Or the person we all want to be when we grow up?

For me, all of the above. But I am guessing there are some of you who are not even familiar with the wonderful and ICONIC Mrs. Helen Roper, the character from the show, “Three’s Company” and its spin-off, “The Ropers”.

This was the late ’70s and EARLY ’80s darlings. PEAK era.

Mr. Roper was married to Stanley, and you could say she was VERY amped up on the horny front, much to Stanley’s annoyance. She wore colorful schmattas and beaded jewelry. She was a Golden Girl BEFORE the Golden Girls.

Let’s be clear…Audra Lindley was basically my age when she started as Mrs. Roper. Again, back to my earlier point but…I DIGRESS.

As these things tend to do, Mrs. Roper has become a THING in 2023. And that is people are having Mrs. Roper parties and events all across our magical land.

TELL ME YOU AREN’T CRYING!! I mean, does it get more wholesome than this???

I am OBSESSED. I am absolutely having my own Mrs. Roper party and I am calling my girlies like Britt and Candy and Lydia and Lara, and let’s get this party STARTED.

Here’s an explainer and how-to which I LOVED:

And again…I am LATE to this trend because of my travels…it’s gone so mainstream it was in the NYT….

  • Bad Bunny broke the Internet this weekend. He posted this nude selfies on his Insta Stories…

This is the pixelated version FYI. Let’s just say the NSFW pic is a LOT. And again…the memes:

Speaking of memes….

This one has been making the rounds recently….🫣

Oh and the kids JUST discovered Lilith Fair FYI:

Are we seeing a trend this week or what?

The reactions have been FLAWLESS:

Yeah, so we go from being little 20-something girlies dancing on tables at clubs, smoking skinny cigs whilst slamming Red Bulls and vodka to being in a retirement home overnight. LOLs.

Keep dancing on those tables, my ladies….

What else are the kids talking about?

  1. Never shoot your pics in anything but .5, or else you are a loser. Go to your phone camera, and you will see it automatically goes to 1x. But that is for old people. The young? .5 ALL DAY LONG
  2. Never text complete sentences or one long text.

Break

it

up

so

you

send

a

million

texts

3. 2015 novel, “A Little Life” is now a TikTok trend and everyone is reading this book and it’s SAD and your kids might be talking about it.

Ahhh….closing on BOOKTOK. Love it so much.

THAT IS IT, my darlings…

A fun round-up!!! SO…next week is Labor Day, aka a bank holiday on Monday, so I will not have PCM BUT….because I hate skipping yet another week…I will have PCM on TUESDAY for all to enjoy.

If you aren’t already a subscriber, PLEASE PLEASE SUBSCRIBE — and also, please do SHARE this with all your friends as I am trying to grow this little thing…

BUT IF you want this in your inbox for NOW, please send an email to:

subscribe@popculturemondays.com

Xx,

Brooke

--

--