Pop Culture Mondays/8.9.21

The “PLEASE DON’T STOP BATHING” Edition

Brooke Hammerling
Pop Culture Mondays
8 min readAug 9, 2021

--

Welcome to my brain…

Ciao ciao my darling pop culture junkies. This is coming to you a bit earlier because I am in Italy and instead of swimming in the sun or learning how to make pasta or drinking Negronis in town, I am here at a desk writing about viral moments and TikToks. Because TBH I enjoy nothing more so the sun and Negronis and everything Italy can just wait a minute or two. But we got thru another week you guys…proud of us. I am assuming no one reading this has had a meltdown on a plane this week? Because that most def seems to be a trend these days. A gentleman across from me on my flight to Italy— who I know wasn’t vaccinated because he checked in ahead of me and had to show negative covid test because he was ‘NO WAY IN HELL GETTING THE SHOT” — announced he was going to be eating and drinking the entire 11 hour flight so he wouldn’t wear a mask. GOOD TIMES. Forget going to Mars for a minute, what I am hoping our favorite son, pop culture icon Elon, can start working on is personal, automated flight crafts for us poors who cannot afford a G5. Like I want a little pod with a flat screen and rosé on tap that can fly me from LA to NY without other PEOPLE. Just me. If Elon or someone can invent that…as well as some serum that lets dogs live 75 years — this is all I want in life. BUT I DIGRESS….

Welcome to PCM. If you are new here, welcome welcome. It is a safe-ish place that is a bit of a healthier escape than drowning a bottle of tequila, alone in bed on a Sunday afternoon, BUT NOT BY MUCH. We are and always will be TRUMP-free because….wait, I don’t think I need to explain the WHY here to be perfectly honest. Enjoy…

XOXO

HELL IN THE SKIES

PLANE HELL:

Again, I am pleading with the powers that be whether Elon or someone just not you Jeffrey Bezos, please make us little personal flight pods. Because SHIT IS GETTING SCARY for us in the skies. There seems to be a new story every week with someone losing their collective shit for us all to see uploaded to TikTok or YouTube. This week the winner of all meltdowns was a young gentleman named Max Berry who hit all the meltdown milestones to make him the douchebag of the week:

  • He was clearly very drunk
  • He raged about how much money his parents and Grandpa had
  • He assaulted two female flight attendants

A REAL GEM OF A GUY. So yeah he needed to be subdued and while the reports are he was duct taped, I really feel like this was more of a packing tape kind of situation which feels less impactful, but you tell me:

There are so many stories to come out of this one incident but the best of the best is this interview that some did not realize was satire but I will tell you what…IF HE WAS A REAL FLIGHT ATTENDANT I would fly Frontier as much as possible:

Though to be honest, I think some people have described me as smelling like cigarettes, Everclear and a whole lot of regret at times in my life so I totally related to this description.

Anyway, Max Berry really shit the bed here (probably literally) and apparently has lost his finance job and even his alma mater, Ohio Wesleyan, had to issue a statement. Clearly he needs help but the point is, people are seemingly acting out more than ever before as the world tries to navigate travel again. STAF SAFE OUT THERE YOU GUYS.

PLEASE BATHE

FOR THE LOVE OF GOD PEOPLE PLEASE BATHE:

Yes here we are, this is why this week’s edition is Baby Yoda in a bath because we now have the 2nd celeb who while seemingly is a lovely human, has used his massive platform to share that he believes bathing is bad basically. AND THIS IS COMING on the heels of Ashton Kutcher and Mila Kunis making headlines about not bathing their children until they see dirt on them. BUT it is highly likely you have heard someone reference this week Jake G talking about not bathing and it comes from a Vanity Fair interview IRONICALLY promoting a Prada fragrance he is the FACE OF. I feel like Prada people are like um….this is NOT what we scripted for you. When selling a scent, we don’t want to think of it as a scent to cover up musty nasty unbathed BO? LAST WEEK we had CENTAUR SCENT thanks to our boyfriend Adam Driver and Burberry…this week we have stinky Jake and Prada sailing?

Let’s just break this ad down though because truly I have never seen a more earnest and serious ad for anything in my life…I mean it is not satire, this is SERIOUS MAN BUSINESS:

I mean, first of all, I am biased I know this but I am TEAM ORACLE all the way but putting that aside, can you EVEN with this ad? But then the thinking that the BEST way to promote it would be to make headlines because you said you find bathing “less and less necessary”? Just throw on some LUNA ROSSA OCEAN from Prada and smell like a salty sailor who can sail aka fly a carbon fibre thing of beauty and call it a DAY.

Socials had fun:

Look…the thing is…shower, don’t shower…I don’t care. But if you are promoting a cologne, maybe go to the CENTAUR route next time. ALL I am saying.

AND JUST A FEW OF MY FAVORITE THINGS (AND SOME DESPICABLE ONES TOO…)

Short and sweet PCM this week as half the day is gone and I am still sitting at this desk writing and drinking espresso and I am wired from the caffeine and I need to get out of my room so I AM SORRY. But there was a LOT that happened this week so in case you missed it…..

  • I feel like we have to be resigned to the fact that Meghan Markle and Harry are just people we will hear about in some fashion weekly. We cannot avoid it no matter how much we might want to. But this past week Meghan celebrated turning 40 by asking her very accomplished friends to donate 40 minutes of their time mentoring a woman trying to get back into the work force. FORTY MINUTES. I am all for mentorship but I am not sure how impactful ultimately this is but look it is nice and I am all for the mission but that’s not what PCM is about. It’s about breaking down the imagery of this moment because I have a lot to say. The desk she is at is HUGE. Her laptop is on stacks of HER BOOKS. And the H blanket I guess to remind us of Harry is a $3k HERMES blanket just casually on the chair taunting us mere pedestrians. IT IS A LOT. But I really dig her fig tree which is a tricky little guy to keep thriving so yay on that.
  • ZADDY is just continuing to DOMINATE the summer. Thank you Detective Stabler for your service.

Seriously, I may just change our icon to be Chris Meloni moving forward. Bye Baby Yoda maybe? EL SIGH. Well, I will say I haven’t enjoyed an interview as much as I have this one in a while.

  • Never watched more baseball in my life than I did this week as I watched this video 100 times:
  • And this thread showing ALL the people who have appeared in “Miami Vice” back IN THE DAY my friends is pretty incredible:
  • Twitter Poem drama took over. Some creepy professor wrote a really horrible poem seemingly an ode to writer Jia Tolentino but the original tweet is down so just read this whole thing here:
  • And last but very much NOT least I cannot wait for this show…this will be the only thing I care about until it airs and I am so so so excited. The cast is amazing and the talent behind “AMERICAN CRIME STORY: IMPEACHMENT” from some of the amazing women I know who this would not have ever been possible…I am telling you this is going to be 🔥…

THAT IS IT. I am off in search of a Negroni and a beautiful Italian man….Have a beautiful week my lovely readers and PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE get the vaccine.

Be safe, be kind.

If you aren’t already a subscriber (PLEASE PLEASE SUBSCRIBE!!!) and please do SHARE this with all your friends…and IF want this in your inbox please send an email to:

subscribe@popculturemondays.com

Or CLICK SUBSCRIBE below!

--

--