Graceful Departure

Popped!
Popped!
Published in
3 min readMay 18, 2016

By Elou Robles

Oliver Pulumbarit for Popped!

We have all experienced hurt at some point in our lives. It’s pretty obvious, really. Just take a look at social media. You’ll find yourself washed over by a wave of hugot memes and hashtags. Whether or not you were the one to leave or the one who was left behind, there is always a sting felt when love is lost or let go.

Yes, you got that right. We always discuss the hurt felt by those who were left behind, but not enough about the hurt felt by those who walked away. It almost seems as though there is a double-standard even when it comes to feeling hurt. That shouldn’t be the case, though. People who choose to walk away feel pain as well. I know because I’ve been there.

Imagine yourself guarded and cautious about forging new intimate relationships. Somebody waltzes into your life; you take a chance and you let your guard down. Said person suddenly shuts you out when you begin articulating your issues. He cops out the moment you say you want more. You then realize this will never work out. So you cut your losses before you even get bankrupt.

Oliver Pulumbarit for Popped!

It takes a certain amount of courage to walk away from something you know has potential, especially when you have invested considerable time and attention trying to nurture that connection. And it’s exactly that conscious effort of choosing to give your time and attention to him that makes walking away from what you shared — no matter how premature — hurt more than just a sting.

What made me walk away was the thought of my father. I have always prided myself in having a dad that treats me like a princess but raised me to be a queen. In my pursuit of romance, I have forgotten all about him. But there is a fine line between understanding and martyrdom. I am most certainly not desperate. I know my worth, and I am quite certain that I deserve more than scraps of somebody’s time.

Ladies, when somebody is uncertain of his position in your life and he is taking his precious time deciding if he is in or out, don’t ever think twice about making the decision for him. Show him the door. You don’t let anybody else call the shots for you.

Ms Robles is an old soul who likes to travel. She also enjoys good conversation paired with coffee or sangria; and believes that a rich life is one that is spent cultivating relationships.

Here’s how to write for #Feels

--

--

Popped!
Popped!
Editor for

Shamelessly Putting the Pop in Philippine Culture.