My brother Sam and I are very easily entertained
My brother Sam and I are in New Orleans, 2015

Biography

Max Black
Popsy Black and The Passover Seder
2 min readDec 2, 2015

--

Before delving into the life of my ancestors, first it is important to understand who I am. I am one of three children of Dr. Sheldon and Dr. Melissa Black. My older sister is twenty-three and lives in Chicago while my brother is twenty one and goes to Tulane University in New Orleans.

Sydney, Sam, and I are on our trip to New York

A major aspect of my life that has had a huge part into shaping me into the man I am today is my Judaism. My family is Jewish and my siblings and I were raised going to temple every Saturday. Although my family is not extremely observant anymore, we still have Friday night Shabbat dinners when we are all together.

My best friend Mack and I are partaking in the Jewish tradition of putting on tefillin.

Growing up, my family went to Savannah, Georgia for the Jewish holiday Passover every year to visit my dad’s parents. My grandfather is one of my biggest role models and he is the reason that I keep kosher even though my parents and siblings do not. He is a dentist and is still working at age seventy-nine. I never had the pleasure of meeting his father, Louis Black, but I am focusing on his life for this project. All I knew about Louis, or Popsy, before starting this project is that he came to America from Romania. Through researching the life of Louis Black, I hope to learn more about the man that raised one of my greatest role models and how his story relates to the story of Passover.

--

--