Artist in Focus: Genya

Olivia Powell
poptwig
Published in
3 min readMay 14, 2021

Artist in Focus is an ongoing series featuring hic et nunc (HEN) artists. Interested in being featured in the series? Please complete this form.

PT: Tell us a little about yourself, including what brought you to HEN.

G: First off, my claim to fame is my son who is 13. My best produced work. I really started getting into art when I met my husband in college who was a filmmaking major. He introduced me to all different types of films, and I fell in love with the visual medium. I went on to become a production designer/ art director for film and television. I also was very prolific with my own photography and began doing mixed media pieces and paintings. My husband introduced me to HEN, and I fell in love with the creative process all over again in a new way. HEN has given me a platform to reimagine past pieces and create new ones.

Lady of the Lake by Genya

PT: What’s the story behind the piece you selected to share?

G: The piece that I selected here is called Lady of the Lake. It is the first piece in my Arthurian legend series. This piece is also a self-portrait as I use my own image. I had thought about doing these for a very long time, so I was excited to revisit the idea. I did five all together, each being a layered, mixed media collage of photography and painting. I tried to mix modern elements into these pieces to give them a timeless quality.

PT: Can you share an element of your creative practice?

G: An important element of my creative process is color. The color of the piece is just as important as the image itself. The end color must create a strong feeling in me. I’m drawn to natural elements, the human form, awkward and nontraditional beauty. I love that at times my process starts in one direction and can totally transform into something I never expected.

Genya’s “rough and tumbled” outdoor garden studio

PT: What’s a recent work that you collected on hic et nunc that you’re excited about and why?

G: I am madly in love with Sad Sole 1 by Alonerone. This piece is just beautiful. The color is breathtaking. I love the pastel and muted pallet. I love the movement in this piece and its cinematic qualities. It just really spoke to me.

Sad Sole 1 by Alonerone

PT: What is something you’d like to see for the future of hic et nunc and NFTs?

G: I would love to see alerts on HEN that you could get when artists you collect put up new pieces. That would be nice. Things that help us find each other’s work.

Genya’s collection

More of Genya’s work can be found here.

Works by Genya on hic et nunc

You can find out more about Genya and her work by following her on twitter, and instagram .

Artist in Focus is an ongoing series featuring hic et nunc artists. Interested in being featured in the series? Please complete this form.

--

--

Olivia Powell
poptwig
Editor for

writer / artist / Storyteller who wonders what else stories can be and do