The Sound of Music (1965)

PuzzleGirl
Popular Culture Reviews
2 min readJun 23, 2023
Theatrical release poster by Howard Terpning

Decided to start watching all of the Oscar best picture winners, in order. I hadn’t heard of some of these movies, some I love and have seen multiple times already and I actively hate others, planning to never watch them again. Fair warning, there will be spoilers in these and other reviews to help explain my point of view.

Another movie adapted from a stage musical, The Sound of Music is a classic. Even though a personal fight against Nazism is at the crux of this story, the movie doesn’t spend a lot of time on it and manages to be a delightful telling of the story of the von Trapp family. Everything about the movie is great; the setting, the music, the performances, I can’t find much fault with it. Even though it is quite long, the length is warranted. Considering the era, this easily could have been like My Fair Lady, in that Maria was mistreated by the man she ended up falling in love with, but I thnk the difference is that Maria was a real person, so that trope didn’t happen. The only part of the movie I don’t like is the performance of “Climb Every Mountain”; I just dislike this song so much so I fast-forwarded through that part. Otherwise, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I have seen it several times and it never disappoints. Until this rewatch, I wouldn’t have thought this was one of my favorite movies, but I actually think it is! It is so well-known and has been re-produced on stage countless times, but it isn’t hard to see why.

I absolutely think this movie deserved to win the Oscar. I can’t give it 5 stars because it isn’t perfect, but I will give it 4.5 out of 5, I love it that much. Just a joyful movie worth watching again and again!

--

--