Twitter Is Killing Its Terrible Mac App. Here Are Your Options for Replacing It

Find the best way to use Twitter from your Mac

Popular Science
Popular Science

--

Photo: Jaap Arriens/NurPhoto via Getty Images

By Stan Horaczek

I have been using Twitter’s terrible Mac app since I bought my first MacBook Pro back in 2011. In that time, it has regularly crashed, soaked up my computer’s resources, sent me sporadic notifications, and generally sucked. Despite its many shortcomings, the Twitter for Mac app has been my window into the roiling, chaotic sea of the internet. On March 18, however, that window will officially close when Twitter will revoke its support. I will miss it deeply, and unironically.

This leaves me, and others like me, in a quandary. How are we supposed to keep up with the endless stream of questionable political opinions, nonsensical jokes, and the very occasional redeeming bit of cultural miscellany now? I have spent the last couple weeks trying out a few alternative ways to interact with Twitter, taking suggestions from social media experts, Twitter itself, and a collection of how-to articles of varying quality on the subject.

If you’re in a similar situation, here are your options as well as some of my impressions.

--

--