Under Siege

Ryan Lockhart
Popular Video Games
4 min readNov 4, 2019

Greetings and salutations! This week I was hoping to tell you all about a game that I’ve personally been playing for a long time now, and is one that I sit down to play often. That game, is Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six Siege.

Rainbow Six Siege

One of my favorites

My favorite genre of video games tends to be more focused towards first person shooters. My interest in these types of games probably started when I was only seven or eight years old and watching my dad play Day of Defeat on his PC, which eventually evolved into me playing Call of Duty and other famous FPS titles. While I was definitely aware of its existence for a while, I didn’t play Siege until almost 3 years after its release (which was a massive mistake). I’ve been playing this game nonstop ever since I picked it up, and I love everything about it.

Artwork for Rainbow Six Siege

The Objective

Siege is a tactical online multiplayer first person shooter (jeez that was a mouthful). The main idea of the game is that you are a part of Team Rainbow, a counter-terrorist group that is comprised of operatives from around the world. As a player, you enter an online match which is comprised of five players versus five more players. One team of five are considered attackers while the other is considered defenders. Depending on the game mode you are playing, your objective when you attack is to breach the building, take out hostiles and complete a task. On defense, you want to keep the attacking team from laying siege to your building and completing their task by any means necessary.

Why I love it

I’ve never played a more complicated game in my life. The ins and outs of Siege are so deep that I’m always learning new things and new strategies every time I play. As of right now in the game, there are 50 playable operators, which are the different characters in Siege who all do their own unique things, and there are 25 attackers and 25 defenders. Each year Ubisoft, the game’s developer, releases eight new operators, two in each of the four quarters of the year. All of the new content added, including guns and maps, are free to all players as well. Though, players do have to unlock new operators through real or in-game money.

The game itself is very tactical as well. The game has a “no respawn” system which makes it so when you die, you are out till the next round. Siege also has a unique mechanic that means getting shot in the head is an instant death, as opposed to just doing extra damage like in other games. Almost all of the walls and floors in each map are destructible as well. That means you can shoot through the wall in front of you, or just use different gadgets to smash in or blow up the wall completely, which introduces a whole different level of gameplay and strategy.

An operator in Siege

A big achievement

Siege’s launch was a rocky one, but since then has come a long way, and has gathered quite the community and has acquired lots of merchandise as well. In addition to its large fan base, Siege has also become an Esport, known as Rainbow Six Siege Pro League. Most impressive of all however, is that Siege has hit 50 million players as of September 6, 2019.

Rainbow Six Siege Esports

If you haven’t gotten around to playing Siege, then you should. It’s a fantastic game with unique gameplay. As always, be sure to tell me what you think in the comments. Have you ever heard of Siege before? Is this a game you like? Let me know!

Thanks for stopping by, and I’ll smell ya later.

--

--

Ryan Lockhart
Popular Video Games

Hi! I’m an aspiring video game journalist who loves all things gaming. I’m also the owner, writer and editor of the blog “Popular Video Games”. Check it out!