🇺🇸 [lalilo] Nicolas

Armance Lalilo
portraitsofeducation
2 min readMay 31, 2019

Lalilo shines light on the extraordinary work its team members do. Meet Nicolas, Lead Developer at Lalilo.

What are you doing at Lalilo’s? Since when?
I joined the team in May 2017. I am a member of the technical team. My mission is to transform ideas into features usable by our users. To do so I:
- Interact with team members to better understand their ideas and how they want them to be implemented ;
- Use my technical skills to write the code corresponding to the specifications;
- Help other technical team members to develop their skills.

What kind of student were you?
I was calm and discreet. I was shy and usually tried not to speak in front of the whole class.

What do you like most about Lalilo?
The most important thing to me is the positive impact we could generate: adaptive learning could mean children with higher reading skills. Higher reading skills means better-educated children. Better-educated children means better-educated global citizens. Better-educated global citizens means a better world. I am really lucky to be a part of this adventure.

Why did you want to work in Edtech?
Actually, I didn’t want to work particularly in Edtech. I was looking for a job with meaning for our world. It could have been something to improve how agriculture works or to develop ethical finance. Two years ago I didn’t even know about Edtech. When the founders shared their vision with me, it was exactly what I was looking for.

What do you think needs to change in education? Why/How?
I won’t pretend to know the world of education well enough to say what needs to be changed. I think teachers are in a better position than me to answer this question. However, I have the intuition that technology can be a great support in education. Computers, tablets and the internet are tools that can have a big impact in education. I hope policy will support a wise-use for technology as a support for teachers and not as teachers.

Would you have liked to be a teacher? If so, what subject would you have liked to teach?
A high school teacher probably. I remember I asked myself that question when I graduated.

--

--