Beatriz Macedo, Quality Planner

PWIT
Portuguese Women in Tech
3 min readFeb 12, 2021

Early years and where you came from?

I’m still in the “early years” part of my career. I worked for Rolls-Royce in the UK and then came back to Porto to work for Kirchhoff Automotive

How were you introduced to the world of the Portuguese tech industry?

Through my university (FEUP) and numerous events always seeking young women in the area. But I guess the most important one was Web Summit in 2016 where I met so many people from the tech scenes all over the world! I’m still in touch with some

Walk me through your work and what you are doing now in the tech industry.

Quality Planning has a lot to do with document and data management but I always had this question in the back of my mind “does it really count as tech?” because my work is digital, but geared towards the shopfloor

What part of what you do, you love the most?

When I can actually visit the plants and see all the parts being produced and our plans moving from “paper” to action.

How do you think that your background and knowledge impact the way you approach your work in the Portuguese tech industry?

My background in engineering taught me a lot about approaching problems and talking to other people to gain perspective on an issue or to help spark new ideas.

What advice do you have for young women that want to get into tech and don’t know where to start?

It’s never too late or too early to start. When you feel the “bug” or the curiosity to go into tech, talk to people who are already where you want to be. It feels awkward at first like you are bothering them, but in my experience, people love to talk about themselves and help others. If you are combining both, people will be more than happy to help you.

Walk me through a day in your life as a Portuguese women in tech.

Since I have started to work from home, I try to keep to my old routines. I work at my desk, try to take breaks at the same times as I did before, for snacks, and walking outside for a bit. One of the big advantages of working with central-European colleagues is that they “close for the day” much earlier than us, leaving me to work without interruptions, or with some free time for myself. This is when I work on my personal projects, study Chinese, prepare speeches for my Toastmasters Club, read, etc. And I always try to have one activity after dinner too. On Monday nights I go to university and on Wednesdays, I attend Toastmasters meetings. On the other nights, I try to read or call a friend, but I just as often end up surfing YouTube until it’s time for bed.
As a Portuguese Woman in Tech, I try to make the effort to stay up to date with all kinds of tech-related news, and not just those from the automotive sector. Having friends who share this concern is great as we exchange news, book recommendations, online courses, and anything to help each other out.

What’s the best advice you’ve ever received?

Look to successful people for advice. You will never hear someone who achieved something saying that you can’t do it. They are the first to say “if I did it, you can too”

What apps/software/tools can’t you live without?

Google Calendar, Revolut and Smiling Mind

Any links that you want to share? In what are you working on…

This article!

Anything else you would like to share?

Please volunteer! To an organization or cause that you care about. Volunteering has brought me not only the joy of helping others but also wonderful networking opportunities and the chance to practice leadership skills, managing teams, and projects, etc. Being around people who believe in you and your skills and will help you develop and grow is an amazing opportunity. Find a cause you care about and go, go, go!

👉Find Beatriz on LinkedIn

--

--

PWIT
Portuguese Women in Tech

A portrait of the women that help make the difference in the Portuguese Tech Industry. Check our speaker's list: http://bitly.com/pwitList