Carolina Amorim, Co-Founder & CEO @ EmotAI

PWIT Profile

PWIT
Portuguese Women in Tech
3 min readNov 27, 2018

--

Early years and where you came from?
Before founding EmotAI, I was a researcher in physiological computing with applications in product design. While in university, I lead a startup based on paper biosensors for detecting contaminants in water, which received the attention of UNICEF. Most recently, I was the Public Relations coordinator for the non-profit organization, BEST, helping to foster education and networking for students of technology all across Europe. I also earned an M.S in Biomedical Engineering from NOVA University of Lisbon, with a focus in medical imaging and signal processing.

How were you introduced to the world of the Portuguese tech industry?
I got the opportunity to start my own startup when I got accepted in startup voucher. After that, it was through accelerators, mentors and events.

Walk me through your work and what you are doing now in the tech industry.
I’m the CEO of EmotAI which means that my main focus is to make sure we continue to progress, improving our hardware, software, raise investment and decide on marketing and launching strategies.

What part of what you do, you love the most?
I love the development part of the software and hardware. Brainstorming new features, nem designs and names for it are the most fun parts.

How do you think that your background and knowledge impact the way you approach your work in the Portuguese tech industry?
The first startup was created while I was in an entrepreneurship class during my masters. That first contact with the startup world was very important since it gave me the basic knowledge on how to start one. Complementing that with my experience in running and managing a department in a non-profit organization, I learned how to delegate, create a strategic plan, keep deadlines and value team building.

What advice do you have for young women that want to get into tech and don’t know where to start?
Research. Even if you don’t have an idea, the more you research on a specific market, the better you know what they need. Talk with your potential market and don’t try to sell your idea. After all that research and talking with people, you will realize if in fact you should go on with the idea or not. There is no point in creating something if the user doesn’t need it.

Walk me through a day in your life as a Portuguese women in tech.
Since we are a small team of 5, the first ritual in the morning is to all arrive at the same time and drink a coffee. We catch up on what we did the previous day on a more casual way and increase team building. After that I schedule all my meetings for the morning. From meetings with investors, to talking talking with product designers, developing companies and marketing mentors, my mornings are always filled with Skype calls. In the afternoon I focus in following up those meetings with the rest of the team, specially with our CTO and lead developer. Normally my afternoons are not scheduled so that I can keep up on whats been done, give feedback and clarify any doubts that anyone from the team might have. If its a Wednesday, after work, the entire team joins to play paddle. In the end of the day I check all the meetings I’m going to have the next day and make sure I have everything that I need.

What’s the best advice you’ve ever received?
Take feedback from your costumers and partnerships seriously.

What apps/software/tools can’t you live without?
Google spreadsheets and drive. Everything that we need to do is there.

You can find Carolina Amorim on LinkedIn.

--

--

PWIT
Portuguese Women in Tech

A portrait of the women that help make the difference in the Portuguese Tech Industry. Check our speaker's list: http://bitly.com/pwitList