Daniela Seixas, CEO @Tonic App

PWIT Profile

PWIT
Portuguese Women in Tech
2 min readNov 27, 2018

--

Early years and where you came from?
I am a medical doctor by training since 2000, a tech entrepreneur by accident since 2015.

How were you introduced to the world of the Portuguese tech industry?
My intro was in 2016, when I started fundraising for Tonic App. I tried to meet everyone in the tech and entrepreneurship scene in Portugal.

Walk me through your work and what you are doing now in the tech industry.
Helping medical doctors diagnose and treat their patients, by aggregating in a single mobile platform all the resources they need for their day-to-day work.

What part of what you do, you love the most?
All of it! :) I’ve never learnt so much and so fast in my life. In particular, I like product development, marketing and sales.

How do you think that your background and knowledge impact the way you approach your work in the Portuguese tech industry?
I believe my deep knowledge of the healthcare industry and love for tech is shaping product development at Tonic App, our digital health startup. Our software is more functional and efficient and less boring than most in healthcare. I’ve noticed as well that I’m a role model for younger doctors who are starting their own ventures. Happy to help!

What advice do you have for young women that want to get into tech and don’t know where to start?
Just do it, because you can do it.

Walk me through a day in your life as a Portuguese women in tech.
Working with the team all day, frequent business meetings, and admin work and strategy work after everyone leaves the office at the end of the day. When I’m lucky, a cocktail or dinner party afterwards.

What’s the best advice you’ve ever received?
You can do it.

What apps/software/tools can’t you live without?
I know, not original, but efficient: WhatsApp, Slack, Google mail & drive, Skype, Notes and Trello.

You can find Daniela Seixas on LinkedIn.

--

--

PWIT
Portuguese Women in Tech

A portrait of the women that help make the difference in the Portuguese Tech Industry. Check our speaker's list: http://bitly.com/pwitList