Sandra Fernandes, Head of Delivery Partners @ OutSystems

PWIT Profile

PWIT
Portuguese Women in Tech
2 min readNov 27, 2018

--

Early years and where you came from?

I graduated as a Computer Science Engineer from Univ. Nova, then an MSc in Distributed Multimedia Systems in Leeds, UK

How were you introduced to the world of the Portuguese tech industry?
I’ve worked in the IT industry straight after university for 3 years and then when facing a Masters in England could benefit from all my work experience and maturity to specialize in areas being required by the tech industry.

Walk me through your work and what you are doing now in the tech industry.
I’m developing a strategy to on-board partners to support the scaling of OutSystems delivery worldwide guaranteeing the quality of the solutions delivered and the satisfaction/adoption of the customers.

What part of what you do, you love the most?
I love to bring together creativity, business knowledge and technical innovations to cook solutions that bring value. I love thinking customer-first and to focus on Customer Success, making sure technology adoption brings value to customer organizations.

How do you think that your background and knowledge impact the way you approach your work in the Portuguese tech industry?
I have a broad view when approaching a challenge; my background allows me to understand and propose solutions at a technical level, and my experience enables me to understand where to focus, what is important, what brings value. And to have a “gut” feeling on whether something will go well.

What advice do you have for young women that want to get into tech and don’t know where to start?
To have confidence in themselves and to use their capacities (empathy, communication skills, capacity to understand — and later describe — what a customer wants, abstraction) in benefit of their work.

Walk me through a day in your life as a Portuguese women in tech.
I get up excited to move on with the current challenge. During the day I have moments of total focus and moments to share experiences and obstacles and to give some advice to younger colleagues. Lunches are often opportunities to (re)connect to colleagues and friends (the world is a T0). I’m interested in innovation in a general way so I also take some time to read and catch up on the new gadgets and how technology helps society.

What’s the best advice you’ve ever received?
To work for what you want and not to wait for someone to notice you.

What apps/software/tools can’t you live without?
Google, Excel, Waze, Home bank, camera and phone gallery, Onetab, Headspace

You can find Sandra Fernandes on LinkedIn.

--

--

PWIT
Portuguese Women in Tech

A portrait of the women that help make the difference in the Portuguese Tech Industry. Check our speaker's list: http://bitly.com/pwitList