Sweet Soul

A poem for my three week old son.

--

As I stroke your head filled with curls

I think to myself how I must be the luckiest mama in the world,

How can a human so fragile be my responsibility?

How could God bless me with a human who constantly resembles me?

How can your tiny smile light up my delicate heart?

How can your sad face dim my days so dark?

How can a human make me feel this way?

A sweet soul laced in a warm and loving array.

As you lay on my chest, I watch as your tiny hands crumple up into a ball.

You are so content with this life and being just who you are.

You are the love of my life,

My prince to the thrown,

Such a sweet baby,

My sweet soul

--

--

Alexandria Cooper
The Lioness & Her Cub

Wife || Mama Bear & Self Help Fanatic! I write about Self Help, Christianity & Parenting.